Sunday, May 20, 2018
You are here
Home > Latest News > 102.1 FUFA fm > CAF Confederation Cup: KCCA records convincing home victory against Morocco’s FUS Rabat

CAF Confederation Cup: KCCA records convincing home victory against Morocco’s FUS Rabat

CAF Confederation Cup (Group A):

KCCA (Uganda) 3-1 FUS Rabat (Morocco)

Uganda Premier League holders Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) football club convincingly defeated Morocco’s Fath Union Sport (FUS) Rabat 3-1 during the CAF Confederation Cup group A match at the Star Times stadium, Lugogo in Kampala on Sunday evening.

Striker Geofrey Sserunkuma, also the scorer of the lone goal for Uganda Cranes away to Cape Verde netted the opener after 40 minutes.

Sserunkuma successfully slotted home the home after a kick from the penalty spot following a foul on Julius Poloto by left back Yassir Jarici.

Midfielder Ibrahim Saddam Juma and Isaac Muleme scored the other goals in the 54th and 63rd minutes respectively.

FUS Rabat pulled a goal back through Lamine Diakite in the 85th minute.

The match was attended by a passionate crowd.

FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo was the chief guest at the game.


KCCA now leads group A with 9 points with the other group match between Nigerian side Rivers United and Tunisia’s Club Africain coming later on Sunday.

Team line ups:

KCCA XI: Charles Lukwago (G.K), Denis Okot Oola (Captain), Paul Musamali, Timothy Dennis Awany, Jackson Nunda (76’ Allan Okello), Julius Poloto (84’ Vincent Kayizzi Walugembe), Ibrahim Saddam Juma, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Derrick Nsabambi (81’ Paul Nsibambi), Geofrey Sserunkuma, Isaac Muleme

Subs Not Used: Benjamin Ochan (G.K), Isaac Kirabira, Peter Magambo, Dennis Rukundo

Fath Union Sport (FUS) Rabat XI: Majid Aymane, Nayef Aguerd (Captain), Yusupha Njie (58’ El Mehdi Bettache), Lamine Diakite, Saad Aithorsa, Yassir Jarici (65’ Youssef El Gnaoui), Mohamed Saoud, Zakaria Benlamachi, Karim Benrif, Hamza Semmoumy, Mehdi Khalis

Subs Not Used:

Abderrahman El Houasli, Ayoub Skouma, Ibourahima Sidibe, Ass Mandawsky, Ahmed Jahouh, Hicam El Aroui, Abdessalam Benjellou, Younes Azziadi, Mamadou Niang, Nahiri Mohammed, Rachid Tiberkanine, El Mehdi El Bassil, Brahim El Bahri, Mohammed Fouzaire


Center: Norman Matemera (Zimbabwe)

1st Assistant Referee: Salani Ncube (Zimbabwe)

2nd Assistant Referee: Brighton Nyika (Zimbabwe)

4th Official: Nomore Musundire (Zimbabwe)

Commissioner: Tuccu Ghrbremedhin (Eritrea)

General Coordinator: Eric Ruhamiriza (Rwanda)