Saturday, December 16, 2017
You are here
Home > FUFA Big League

About the FUFA Big League

Past Champions

2009/2010-Maroons 2-0 Gulu United 

2010/2011-Maji 5-2 Hoima Busia FC 

2011/2012-Entebbe Young FC 1-0 Kiira Young FC

2012/2013-Bright StarsFC 2-1 CRO FC

2013/2014-Lweza FC 2-1 Sadolin

2014/2015-Maroons FC 1-0 The Saints 

2015/2016-Kirinya Jinja SS 2-0 Onduparaka FC 

2016/2017- Maroons FC

2017/2018-In Progress

The concept of re-structuring Ugandan football with the creation of a new second tier league was first mooted in October 2008 by FUFA. The idea that was single-handedly promoted by the Current President of FUFA Eng. Moses Magogo was ridiculed, resisted, and fought by everyone.

Although Magogo felt abandoned, he was buoyed by the inaugural clubs that were determined to proceed. Eventually out of persistence, Magogo won one by one convert and eventually the league was passed by the FUFA Executive Committee.

The new national second division league, known as the FUFA Big League (FBL), was to cater for leading sides in the five regions. Second tier sides at that time competed at the regional level, with many of them failing to cope with advancement whenever they gained promotion to the national Super League.

FUFA Competitions Committee secretary, Moses Magogo, confirmed that qualification to the Super League through the regional mini leagues would be ended and replaced by promotion through the national first division league.

A major objective of the initiative was to help raise the standard of football outside the Super League