Tuesday, February 19, 2019
You are here
Home > Latest News > 102.1 FUFA fm > The Stanbic Uganda Cup: Round of 32 draw conducted

The Stanbic Uganda Cup: Round of 32 draw conducted

Cup holders KCCA FC have been drawn for an away fixture against FUFA Big League side Simba in the Stanbic Uganda Cup round of 32.

The draw was conducted at Stanbic Bank branch found at Umoja House in Kampala on Tuesday Morning.

The FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo, Stanbic’s Head of Marketing and Communications Daniel Ogong and Stanbic’s Communications Manager Cathy Adengo helped to conduct the draw witnessed by staff of the new sponsors of the Stanbic Uganda Cup and the media.

Cathy Adengo picked the 1st and 2nd balls during the draw to complete the fixture between Synergy FC and Masavu FC.

Adengo was given the opportunity to determine the first fixture of this stage and she picked Synergy FC and Masavu FC as match number 33.

The rest of the fixtures were completed by Ogong who picked balls from the rectangular plastic box for home teams while FUFA President drew balls for the way teams.

Kira United FC was picked by Daniel Ogong-Head of Marketing and Communications at Stanbic Bank.

The round of 32 gets underway this weekend with the FUFA Competitions Department set to synchronize the FUFA calendar to cross check on the teams still in the race but won’t be in action during the Azam Uganda Premier League so that they can honour their fixtures.

FUFA President picked Arua Tigers FC during the draw.

The Stanbic Uganda Cup is played on knockout basis. The winner represents Uganda in the CAF Confederation Cup.

Meanwhile FUFA Chairman Marketing and Communications Committee Rogers Byamukama confirmed that there will be a Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) activity attached to the competition again this year.

‘Football is a unifying sport that brings together people from different walks of life. Such gatherings give humanity a chance to know the needs of one another but some have little or no solutions at all to their social problems. FUFA uses the beautiful game to reach out to the disadvantaged societies through its various commercial properties’ said Byamukama. 

Since 2016, FUFA has used the Uganda Cup to extend a helping hand to communities by engaging the public to donate items that can change many lives of those in need and bring smiles to their faces.

The final of 2017/18 Stanbic Uganda Cup will be played in Kumi, North Eastern Region.

FUFA Competitions Director Ali Mwebe briefed the media on the rules and regulations for the round of 32.

FUFA Competitions Director Ali Mwebe (R) read out the guidelines for the round of 32.

The full draw for round of 32

  • Synergy FC Vs Masavu FC
  • Soana Fc Vs Onduparaka FC
  • Busula Vs Amuka Bright LIght
  • Vipers SC Vs Police FC
  • Kira United FC Vs Lira United FC
  • UPDFFC  Vs Rushere FC
  • Ndejje University FC Vs Ntinda United FC
  • SC Villa Jogoo Vs Bright Stars FC
  • Mbarara City FC Vs Nabitende United FC
  • Water FC Vs Seeta United FC
  • Kansai Plascon FC Vs Doves All Stars FC
  • SimbaFC  Vs KCCA FC
  • Proline FC Vs Luweero United FC
  • BUL FC Vs Nyamityobora FC
  • KJT FC Vs Arua Tigers FC
  • Kitara FC Vs Express FC


Winners of the Stanbic Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup)

  • 1971 –Coffee F.C
  • 1972-1975-Not Held
  • 1976- Gangama F.C
  • 1977- Simba F.C
  • 1978 – Nsambya F.C
  • 1979 – KCC F.C
  • 1980 – KCC F.C
  • 1981 – Coffee F.C
  • 1982 – KCC F.C
  • 1983 – SC Villa
  • 1984 – KCC F.C
  • 1985 – Express F.C
  • 1986 – SC Villa
  • 1987 – KCC F.C
  • 1988 – SC Villa
  • 1989 – SC Villa
  • 1990 – KCC F.C
  • 1991 – Express F.C
  • 1992 – Express F.C
  • 1993 – KCC F.C
  • 1994 – Express F.C
  • 1995 – Express F.C
  • 1996 – UEB S.C
  • 1997 – Express F.C
  • 1998 – SC Villa
  • 1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C
  • 2000 – SC Villa
  • 2001 – Express F.C
  • 2002 – SC Villa
  • 2003 – Express F.C
  • 2004 – KCC F.C
  • 2005 – URA F.C
  • 2006 – Express F.C
  • 2007 – Express F.C
  • 2007/8 – Victors S.C
  • 2008/9 – SC Villa
  • 2009/10 – Victors S.C
  • 2010/11 – Simba S.C
  • 2011/12 – URA F.C
  • 2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University
  • 2013/2014 – URA F.C
  • 2014/15 – SC Villa
  • 2015/16 – Vipers Sports Club