Friday, October 19, 2018
You are here
Home > Latest News > Uganda Cranes to camp in Niger for two international build up matches

Uganda Cranes to camp in Niger for two international build up matches

International Friendly Matches:

27th May – 3rd June 2018

In Niger

Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) has confirmed that the national senior team, Uganda Cranes will take part during a three nation tournament in the West African country of Niger.

Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastian Desabre addressed the media and named the 23 man squad that will be used for the two international warm up matches coming up between 27th May to 3rd June 2018.

‘The main objective of this training camp is to have the players gel together in preparation for the four AFCON 2019 qualification matches between September and November 2018.’ Desabre noted.

Among the 23 summoned players for the two matches is Danish based winger Moses “Mo” Opondo who features at Vendsyssel Football Club.

Three years ago, Opondo paid a courtesy visit to relatives back home and held bilateral talks with the Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) President, Eng. Moses Magogo.

Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre

The summoned players are expected to depart the country on the 26th May 2018.

Meanwhile, the FUFA Communications manager Ahmed Hussein informed the media about the latest updates concerning the Uganda U-20 national team (The Hippos) ahead of the return leg for the CAF U-20 qualifiers.

The team of 18 players and 6 officials will depart the country on Thursday early morning for Cameroon.


Denis Onyango 1985 33 Mamelodi Sundowns South Africa
Charles Lukwago 1994 23 KCCA Uganda
Jamal Salim 1995 23 Al Merreikh Sudan
Denis Iguma 1994 24 Al-Nabi Shayth Lebanon
Nicholas Wadada 1994 24 Vipers Uganda
Murushid Jjuko 1994 24 Simba Tanzania
Bevis Mugabi 1995 23 Yeovil Town England
Timothy Awanyi 1996 22 KCCA Uganda
Geofrey Walusimbi 1990 28 Gor Mahia Kenya
Isaac Muleme 1992 26 Assiouty Egypt
Joseph Ochaya 1993 25 Lusaka Dynamos F.C. Zambia
Hassan Wasswa 1988 30 El Geish Egypt
Khalid Aucho 1993 25 East Bengal India
Taddeo Lwanga 1995 23 Vipers Uganda
Luwagga Kizito 1993 25 CSMS Iaşi Romania
Milton Karisa 1995 23 Vipers Uganda
Allan Kateregga 1994 24 Cape Town South Africa
Faruku Miya 1997 21 Standard Liège Belgium
Moses Opondo 1997 21 Vendsyssel Denmark
Emmanuel Okwi 1992 26 Simba Tanzania
Yunus Sentamu 1994 24 Tirana Albania
Edrisa Lubega 1998 20 Floridsdorfer AC Austria
Mohammad Shaban 1998 20 KCCA Uganda