Skip to main content

FUFA Women Elite League Launched

The inaugural FUFA Women’s Elite League has been launched today at FUFA House in Mengo.
The brief ceremony held during the weekly FUFA Press conference was graced by the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo.

The official logo of the FUFA Women Elite League that kicks off on 21st February, 2015


The league will have eight (8) teams and kicks off on 21st February, 2015.
In his speech, the FUFA President said that h was happy to see this project take off.

‘A lot of planning and efforts have been put together to start the Women’s Elite league. I would like to applaud Madam Mariam Kaliga, Mr. Chris Kalibala, Ayub Khalifah and many other people who have contributed immensely towards women’s football’ said Magogo.

Magogo who told the media that FUFA took an unpopular decision in 2013 to withdraw the National women U-20 team from an African championship but were very much aware of what they were doing.

‘This project has helped us show the public and people attached to football that we were planning behind the scenes to make women’s football a success’ added Magogo.

The FUFA Women Elite League comes shortly after the both the FIFA Com-Unity and Live Your Goals programmes were launched in Uganda last year. Both programs are aimed at taking women’s football to another level by the world soccer governing body FIFA.

Magogo appealed for support from all different stake holders.
‘My administration is about innovations. It is upon us to support our sisters and mothers in this project’ added Magogo.


In her speech while addressing the media, FUFA Women committee chairperson and Executive Committee member Madam Mariam Kaliga said that;

‘I would like to thank the stakeholders for taking up this programme that will help developing the game of women football in the country. It is through this league that better national women teams will be selected at all levels’ said Kaliga.


The FUFA Chief Executive Officer Edgar Watson also attended the press conference and announced a committee set up to run the league.

The committee has; Darius Mugoye –Chairman, Madam Mariam Kaliga-Vice Chairperson
Members: Ayub Khalifah, Enfrance Nanjego, Harriet Nattabi and Annet Nakamya. Mwebe Ali will be secretary of the Committee.
Teams registered: Western United Women FC, Kakira Women FC, Ajax Women FC, Kawempe Muslim Team, Buikwe She Red Stars FC, She Corporate FC, Eastern Heroes Women FC, Alleluyah 2008 Women FC.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop