Skip to main content

2016 CAF Awards: Uganda Cranes, Onyango and coach Micho nominated

Uganda Cranes, goalkeeper Dennis Onyango and head coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredejovic have been nominated for the 2016 Glo – CAF Awards.

Uganda has been nominated for the team of the year alongside DR Congo, Senegal, Nigeria U-23 and Guinea Bissau among the best achievers of the year, 2016.

The Uganda Cranes defied all the odds to qualify for the Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon 2017 for the first time in over 38 years.

This was after finishing second in group D in a group West Africans Burkina Faso led by mere head to head record.

Uganda Cranes head coach, Micho addresses the media at FUFA House

Micho is among the five best coaches from whom the winner will be chosen.

The other four are; DR Congo coach Florent Ibenge, Mamelodi Sundowns Pitso Mosimane, Mo Bejaia head coach Nacer Sandjak and Florence Omagbemi, the head coach of Nigeria’s women national team.

Dennis Onyango has been nominated among the best African based players.

The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Goalkeeper Dennis Onyango with the FUFA President, Eng Moses Magogo at Namboole

How winners will be determined:

The winners will be decided by votes from the CAF Technical & Development, Media Committees and a panel of 20 experts (Journalists, TV consultants) except Fair Play, Legend and Platinum awards, which are not subject to vote.

For this year, there will be no votes for the Youth National Team of the Year.

For the catergory of the referee of the Year, the winner will be voted only by the CAF Referees Committee.

National Team of the Year

  • DR Congo
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Nigeria U-23
  • Senegal
  • Uganda

Coach of the Year

  • Florent IBENGE (DR Congo)
  • Milutin ‘Micho’ SREDOJEVIC (Uganda)
  • Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Nacer SANDJAK (MO Bejaia)
  • Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)

African Player of the Year

  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)
  • Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)

African Player of the Year (Based in Africa),

  • Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns & Zimbabwe)
  • Keegan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)
  • Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe & Zambia)
  • Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)
  • Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda)

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
  • Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
  • Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)
  • Janine VAN WYK (South Africa & JVW)
  • Raissa FEUDJIO TCHUANYO (Cameroon & Aland United)

Most promising Talent

  • Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  • Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)
  • Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
  • Oghenekaro ETEBO (Nigeria & CD Feirense)
  • Ramadan SOBHI (Egypt & Stoke City)

Youth Player of the Year

  • Alex IWOBI (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  • Eric AYIAH (Ghana U-17)
  • Franck KESSIE (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)
  • Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)
  • Sidiki MAIGA (Mali U-20)

Referee of the Year

  • Papa Gasama, Gambia
  • Grishea Gehead, Egypt
  • Malang Diedhiou, Senegal

Club of the Year

  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  • MO Bejaia (Algeria)
  • TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
  • Zamalek (Egypt)
  • Zesco United (Zambia)

Women’s National Team of the Year




South Africa



    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop