Skip to main content

2017 AirtelFUFA Awards: Post Bank and URA commit financial contribution, more nominees revealed

With the 2017 Airtel FUFA Awards gala drawing closer, preparations to have a befitting ceremony are getting in high gear. The Awards will be on 1st December at Speke Resort Munyonyo.

Post Bank and Uganda Revenue Authority Football Club (URA FC) have officially committed their financial contributions.

In a press briefing held on Wednesday at FUFA house, the two companies revealed their financial package towards the awards.

Jackie T. Kwesiga, the senior Manager Marketing and Communications who represented Post Bank announced a package of Ushs 6 million. She indicated that as an institute, they are committed to rewarding excelling individuals.

‘We are proud to partner with FUFA in appreciating excelling athletes and on that note, Post Bank will commit six million shillings the awards ceremony,” she said.

Similarly, URA through Jotham Sserwanga announced a package of 5 million shillings.

Post Bank and URA FC join Round Bob, Azam TV, Nile Special, National Insurance Corporation (NIC), BUL, Ecobank, SMS One, 102.1 FUFA fm the main partners. Airtel are the official sponsors of the Awards. Kibo Media are the organisers.

The organising committee also released nominees for more five categories including coach, referee, beach soccer player, upcoming talent and upcoming referee.

Full List of nominees:

Beach soccer player of the year


Paul Lule ( Muteesa I Royal University)

Nasser Lwamunda (Muteesa I Royal University)


FUFA Referee of the year

Alex Muhabi

Mark Ssonko

Brian Miiro Nsubuga


FUFA Coach of the year

Asaph Mwebaze (Maroons FC)

Hussein Kheri (Paidha Black Angels FC)

Mike Mutebi ( KCCA FC)


FUFA Upcoming talent (Playing in the FUFA Juniors League) 

Ivan Asaba (KCCA Soccer Academy Vipers Junior Team)

Salim Abdallah (Sport Club Villa Jogoo Junior team)

Sadat Anaku (KCCA Soccer Academy)


FUFA upcoming referee (Who officiate in the FUFA Juniors League) 

Abdul Mukasa

Jackie Nassozi

Haruna Mayanja

Kennedy Kasadha


Other categories

FUFA Best XI (From Uganda Premier League and other leagues)

FUFA Presidential Award (Chosen by FUFA President)

FUFA Fair play award (Team with least bookings in Azam Uganda Premier League)

Airtel FUFA Female player of the year

Hasifah Nassuuna (Kawempe Muslims SS/UCU)

Vanessa Karungi (Olila High School)

Ikwaput Fazilah (Olila High School)

Airtel FUFA Male player of the year

Geofrey Serunkuma (KCCA FC/Buildicon)

Tadeo Lwanga (Sc Villa Jogoo/Vipers Sc)

Mutyaba Muzamiru (KCCA FC)

MAIN PHOTO: Post Bank and URA officials handover the Cheque to FUFA CommunicationsManager Ahmed Hussein. Kibo Media MD Kibirige Bobkins also attended. 


    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop