Monday, June 1, 2020
You are here
Home > Latest News > 102.1 FUFA fm > AFCON Finals: Uganda Cranes easily defeat DR Congo in Cairo

AFCON Finals: Uganda Cranes easily defeat DR Congo in Cairo

Total AFCON Egypt 2019 Finals:

DR Congo 0-2 Uganda Cranes

Uganda Cranes registered a landmark victory at the Total AFCON Egypt 2019 finals, overcoming DR Congo 2-0 at the Cairo International Stadium on Saturday in a Group A.

A goal in each half by Patrick Henry Kaddu and Emmanuel Arnold Okwi, both great headers gave Sebastien Desabre’s charges the momentous win on the hot evening in Egypt.

Kaddu pounced home the opener after 14minutes of the first half off Faruku Miya’s teasingly delivered corner kick.

Okwi also glanced home Miya’s free-kick two minutes inside the second half to send wild celebrations from the fans who graced the match as well as the players and team officials.

Uganda Cranes players celebrate their opening goal headed home by Patrick Henry Kaddu.

All the three changes were called for by the two countries. Uganda in particular replaced Lumala, Kaddu and Miya for Allan Kyambadde, Isaac Muleme and Timothy Denis Awany respectively.

Uganda’s Okwi was named the TOTAL Man of the Match.

Uganda’s next game is on Wednesday against Zimbabwe warriors who lost 1-0 to Egypt on the opening day.

This was Uganda’s win at AFCON once again since 1978 after the 2-1 semi-final victory over Nigeria.

Uganda Cranes players celebrate their opening goal scored by Kaddu (9)

Uganda Cranes XI:

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town), Godfrey Walusimbi (Un-attached), Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Un attached), Mike Azira (Montreal Impact, Canada), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba, Tanzania), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia), Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Abdu Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden)


Abdu Lumala Off – Allan Kyambadde ON

Patrick Henry Kaddu Off, Isaac Muleme ON

Abdu Lumala Off, Timothy Denis Awany ON

Subs Not Used:

Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), Robert Odongkara (Adama City, Ethiopia), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Brian Mukiibi (Ostersunds, Sweden), Isaac Muleme (FK Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo),, Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt)