Skip to main content

AFCON U17 Qualifiers: Uganda’s 20 man squad flies out to Tanzania


Sunday 12 August

  • Uganda vs Ethiopia

Friday 17th August

  • South Sudan vs Uganda

Sunday 19th August

  • Kenya vs Uganda

Wednesday 22nd August

  • Uganda vs Djibouti

Team flies out on Tueaday morning at 7am aboard RwandAir. 

FUFA Executive Member (West Nile Region) Mr. Rasoul Ariga is the Leader of Delegation. 

The Uganda U17 National team flew out of the country on Tueday at 7am aboard RwandAir. The team will have a stopover in Kigali before connecting to Dar es Salam in Tanzania where the CAF Regional Qualifiers tournament will be held from 11th – 26th August. The same country will be host of the 2019 AFCON U17 Finals. 

FUFA Execuitve Member Rasoul Ariga is the Leader of Delegation.

Head coach Peter Onen named his 20 man squad on Sunday after the evening training session at the FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru where the team has been camping for two weeks.

Eleven (11)of the players named in the squad featured in the 2018 CECAFA U17 Championship in Burundi in which Uganda finished third.

Samson Kasozi who plays his club football for Bright Stars FC Junior Team jumps highest ready to head the ball during training

Onen’s side will compete in Group B alongside Ethiopia, Djibouti, South Sudan and Kenya. Uganda’s campaign gets underway on 12th August against Ethiopia followed with fixtures against South Sudan 5 days later (17th),  Kenya on 19th and finally Djibouti on 22nd.

Shot stopper Oluka George William with an attempt to save the  ball during training  on Sunday

The youngsters nicknamed Cubs will leave for Tanzania on Tuesday morning.

Mukisa Owen who features for BUL FC JT eyes the ball during training at FUFA Technical Centre Njeru

Final 20 (Squad numbers attached)

The 26 players who have been in Camp for the two weeks of residential Training at FUFA Technical Centre Njeru

Goal Keepers

1Semwogerere Daniel (UPDF JT FC), 18 – Oluka George (Buddo SS), 19 – Oyo Delton (KJSSS FC JT)


2 – Ssekimbegga Kevin (Buddo SS), 3 – Kafumbe Joseph (Buddo SS), 4 – Kasozi Samson (Bright Stars FC JT, 5 – Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa)-Captain, 20 – John Rogers (Onduparaka FC JT), 17 – Juma Ibrahim (KCCA SA), 16 – Ekolot Ibrahim (Bright Stars FC JT)


6 – Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC JT), 7 – Owane Yasin Abdul (Rock High School), 8 – Mwaka Polycap (Football For Good Academy Gulu), 10 – Kakaire Thomas (SC Vipers JT), 12 – Alowo John Kokas (URA FC JT), 13 – Ngonde Elvis (KJSSS FC JT)


9 – Iddi Abdul Wahid (Onduparaka FC JT), 11 – Asaba Ivan (SC Vipers JT), 14 – Yoga Najib (Kisozi Seed High School), 15 – Mukisa Owen (BUL FC JT)

Team Officials

From L-R; Hamza Luatalo - Assistant Coach, Kiberu Mybarak - Goalkeeping Coach, Mutyaba Bashir - Team Manager, Peter Onen - Head Coach, Mumpenje Frank 0- Kit Manager and Nakabago Emmanuel - Team Doctor
The Cubs team officials From L-R; Hamza Lutalo – Assistant Coach, Kiberu Mubarak – Goalkeeping Coach, Mutyaba Bashir – Team Manager, Peter Onen – Head Coach, Mumpenje Frank- Kit Manager and Nakabago Emmanuel – Team Doctor. Omaria Bosco will travel as Team Media Officer.

The leader of Delegation is Ariga Rasoul.

Follow FUFA on twitter and Facebook here, for the latest updates around Ugandan football.

MAIN PHOTO: The Uganda Cubs at Entebbe International Airport on Tuesday morning

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop