Monday, July 6, 2020
You are here
Home > Latest News > 102.1 FUFA fm > Airtel–FUFA Awards 2018 launched, nominees for MVPs announced

Airtel–FUFA Awards 2018 launched, nominees for MVPs announced

4th Edition Airtel-FUFA Awards 

7th December 2018

*At Speke Resort Munyonyo, Kampala

The 4th edition of the  Airtel FUFA Awards have been officially launched at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel, Rwenzori ball room on Wednesday, 7th November 2018.

In attendance at the launch was the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo, chairman of the Airtel FUFA Awards organizing committee Rogers Byamukama, Uganda Premier League’s Board member David Serebe, sponsors and partners’ representatives, event organisers Kibo Media as well as the media.

Airtel Uganda’s Head Brand and Communications  Remmie Kisakye (L) flanked by the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo as she delivered her speech

During the same event, the Awards main sponsors (Airtel Uganda) handed over a dummy cheque of Shs 100M. Other partners NIC Holdings Limited also announced support of 10M towards the event.

This year’s awards ceremony will take place on 7th December 2018 at the Speke Resort Munyonyo in Kampala.

NIC Holdings Head Corporate Communications Pamela Abonyo hands (2nd L) over the dummy cheque to the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo flanked by the chairman of the  Airtel FUFA Awards organising committee Rogers Byamukama. On the extrem left is FUFA Marketing Director Esther Musoke

The Federation continues to recognise individual and team excellence. The FUFA Awards are aimed at honoring excellence for Ugandan footballers annually that help in raising the bar. Some of the gallant past winners are now plying their trade outside Uganda like Fazila Ikwaput, Faruku Miya and Muhammed Shaban while Muzamiru Mutyaba is playing in the CAF Champions League with KCCA Football Club. I will end by urging all Ugandans to turn up in huge numbers on the 17th November 2018 at Mandela National Stadium when Uganda Cranes plays Cape Verde in the AFCON 2019 qualifiers. History awaits us as we fight to qualify for AFCON back to back’ Eng. Moses Magogo told the media.

FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo addressing the media at Sheraton Hotel on Wednesday morning

The Awards will once again be sponsored by Airtel for the 4th year running hence acquiring the naming rights of the Airtel FUFA Awards 2018.

We are happy to partner with FUFA for the fourth year running to sponsor the Airtel FUFA Awards. Airtel Uganda is committed to supporting football right from the grass-root to the national team and our support of these awards, re-affirms total commitment for developing football at all levels. We thank FUFA for continually recognizing talent and pledge as a brand to continue supporting this cause as we strive to see Ugandan football players become highly regarded in Africa and across the world. As a brand, we have been associated with promotion of football at all levels from the Airtel Rising Stars, Masaza, awards to the national team (Uganda Cranes). I also urge Ugandans to turn up at Namboole Stadium on 17th November 2018 when we play Cape Verde. Uganda is a blessed nation with abundant talent and we shall make it’ Airtel Uganda Head Brand and Communications Remmie Kisakye remarked.

The final list of nominees for the Male and Female Most Valuable players (MVP’s) has been generated by a panel of experts – the 16 coaches in the Uganda Premier League and FUFA Women Elite league.

There are 16 catergories for the awards in total, four of which will involve the general public through SMS to choose their best.

David Serebe, Uganda Premier League (UPL) Board Member

What they said at the launch:

David Serebe, Uganda Premier League Board:

We are very proud as the Uganda Premier league to be associated with the FUFA Awards. Previously, we held our own awards but reasoned it otherwise to join hands with the mother body, FUFA for the common goal of rewarding talent and excellence.

Rogers Byamukama, Chairman FUFA Awards Organising Committee:

I will begin by giving a vote of thanks to the Almighty Lord. I thank the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo for this initiative of rewarding excellence. I thank the title sponsors Airtel Uganda for believing in the Federation since the Awards’ inception. I thank the other partners on board NIC Holdings, EcoBank, BUL, SMS One, Nile Breweries Limited, Post Bank and Kibo Media, the captains of these brands, the media for promoting the talents. We want to make every edition better and better

Jackie Tahakanizibwa, Senior Manager Marketing and Communications Post Bank

Jackie Tahakanizibwa, Senior Manager marketing and communications Post Bank:

As a banking institution, we are privileged to be part of the Airtel FUFA awards. We are here to inspire and empower masses of which football is part. This takes discipline and teamwork.

Pamela Abonyo addressing the guests and media during the 2018 Airtel FUFA Awards launch at Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Pamela Abonyo, Head Corporate Communications at NIC Holdings Limited:

NIC Holdings Limited has been part of the football sponsorship for the last 12 years. We are delighted to see other partners on board. We are humbled to be part of the FUFA awards where excellence is rewarded.

Primerose from Ecobank Uganda
SMS One Business Development Manager Tony Mutengu explaining how fans can vote for the MVP’s and their favourite players.

Categories of the Awards:

1 – Airtel FUFA Male Player of the year 2018:

  • Allan Okello (KCCA FC)
  • Moses Waiswa (Vipers SC)
  • Vianne Sekajugo (Onduparaka FC)

2- Airtel FUFA Female Player of the year:

  • Tracy Jones Akiror (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC)
  • Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals FC)
  • Shadia Nankya (Uganda Martyrs High School, Lubaga)

3 – FUFA Upcoming Talent (FUFA Juniors League U-19)

4 – FUFA Most Promising Player Award

5 – FUFA Coach of the Year

6 – FUFA Best XI

7 – FUFA Presidential Award

8 – FUFA Fair-play Award

9 – FUFA Individual Fair-play Award

10 – FUFA Referee of the Year

11 – FUFA Upcoming Referee of the year

12 – FUFA Beach Soccer player of the year

13 – Fans’ Favourite Ugandan player of the year

14 – Fans’ Favourite Ugandan player (Foreign based)

15 – Fan of the Year award

16 – MVP (FUFA Big League)