Skip to main content

Airtel FUFA Awards 2019: Okello, Nalukenge crowned as the finest footballers

Allan Okello and Juliet Nalukenge were crowned as the best Airtel Male and Female respective most valuable players of the year, 2019 during a glamorous awards night held at the Speke Resort Munyonyo in Kampala.

Both players were rewarded by Shs 1M,  trophy, medal and drove home with a car each.

Okello, a KCCA FC and Uganda Cranes player was recognized for the outstanding performance during the year that witnessed his club win the 13th StarTimes Uganda Premier League title, beating teammate Mustafa Kizza and Proline’s Bright Anukani.

Allan Okello poses infront of his car at Speke Resort Munyonyo

Okello was also part of the Uganda Cranes team that qualified for the 2020 CHAN finals in Cameroon, scoring crucial goals and making odd assists.

Nalukenge, a forward at Kawempe Muslim Women Football Club was rewarded for the great display in the year where she was top scorer at the 2019 COSAFA U-17 championship in Mauritius, also guiding Uganda to the trophy in the aforementioned tournament.

Juliet Nalukenge smiles besides her car

She was also the top scorer at the 2019 CECAFA Women Senior Challenge Cup in Tanzania where Uganda finished third for the second successive year.

The guest of honour, Janet Kataha Museveni was represented by Prof. Mondo Kagonyera who handled the top performers their rewards, flanked by the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo, Uganda Cranes head coach Johnathan McKinstry, Airtel Uganda MD VG Somasekhar among others.

‘We are pleased to have partnered with FUFA. Tonight we shall recognize personalities who play a core role in the game of football. Airtel will continue to support football in Uganda for the years to come’ Airtel Uganda Managing Director VG Somasekhar said.

A section of Acholi Province fans at the Pece War Memorial Stadium during the 2019 FUFA Drum semi-finals against Bugisu

Other winners:

Acholi Province fans were recognized as the the best fans’ group.

FUFA 1st Vice President Justus Mugisha hands over an accolade to beach soccer player Sulaiman Ochero

The Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA) took home the Airtel – FUFA Member Association of the Year.

Egyptian based Uganda Cranes striker Abdul Lumala was named the Airtel – FUFA Fans Favourite Foreign based player of the Year.

Abdul Lumala (middle) was named the fans favorite foreign based player of the year
Gavin Kizito Mugweri gets his award as best up-coming talent

Uganda U-20 captain and SC Villa defender Gavin Kizito Mugeri was the best Airtel – FUFA Upcoming Talent of the Year.

The FUFA Presidential Award went to former Uganda Cranes captain Magid Musisi (Rest in Peace).

Some of the Uganda Cranes 1978 Legends with their award. On the right is FUFA President, Eng. Moses Magogo
KCCA CEO Anisha Muhoozi hands over the accolade to Kawempe Muslim women club head coach Ayub Khalifa. Khalifa is also the Uganda U-17 Girls team head coach and second assistant coach of the Uganda Crested Cranes team

Airtel – FUFA Best Squad (Team) Award was won by the indomitable Team of 1978, the losing finalists at the AFCON that year in Ghana.

The Airtel – FUFA Women Football Coach of the Year was Ayub Khalifa as Shafiq Bisaso took the Airtel – FUFA Male Football Coach of the Year.

Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) Football Club took the fair-play award, received by the club chairman James Kizza.

Some of the female players on the women team best XI. Each was rewarded with a medal and Shs 1M
Best Male XI

The Airtel Male Best XI had Joel Mutakubwa (GK), Paul Willa, Mustafa Kizza, John Revita, Halid Lwaliwa, Allan Kayiwa, Allan Okello, Shafiq Kagimu, Viane Ssekajugo, Mike Mutyaba and Bright Anukani.

Meanwhile, the Airtel Female best XI had Daisy Nakazkiro (GK) Naziz Florence, Nankya Shadia, Marion Amangat, Viola Namuddu, Rita Nabbosa, Phiona Nabbumba, Fauzia Najjemba, Mauren Kinavudori, Juliet Nalukenge and Hasifa Nassuna.

The FUFA Nantameggwa Winner for the Quiz on 102.1 FUFA f.m was Henry Lubulwa.

‘We are celebrating excellence of the football players. The Airtel – FUFA awards date as far back as 2013 when I had just become FUFA President. That time, the whole country was lost of hope, we had tried so many times to qualify for AFCON and failed. We thank Airtel and other sponsors with whom we have come a long way. We thank the Government of Uganda for the financial support. This success you are seeing today is not accidental. This year 2019, we have entered all competitions available. Today, FUFA runs 600 concurrent activities. It is very important we celebrate the footballers. It is also important that we provide the conducive environment to work in. We need good facilities. Government should address the issue of facilities and the out-dated sports law as old as 1964Said FUFA President, Eng. Moses Magogo.

Awards celebrate talents and achievements. Football is perhaps the most important sport in the world. To the footballer, the Airtel FUFA Awards should encourage you and you do even better. The various winners should be role models. Avoid distractive behaviors. I thank FUFA for the idea of awards and I thank the sponsors led by Airtel Uganda for considering to support the awards. I salute players and coaches‘ noted the First Lady and Minister of Education & Sports, Hon. Janet Kataha Museveni, the chief guest whose speech was read by Prof. Mondo Kagonyera.

We are here to recognize the main actors of the game; players, coaches, administrators and fans. In a special way, we appreciate Airtel Uganda and all the other partners who have sponsored these awards’ Rogers Byamukama, chairman awards local organizing committee.

The awards theme was “Celebrating Uganda’s Finest Footballers”.

All Winners:

Airtel Male Footballer of the Year:  Allan Okello

Airtel Female Footballer of the Year: Juliet Nalukenge

Airtel – FUFA Fans Team of the year: Acholi Province

Airtel – FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the Year: Sulaiman Ochero

Airtel – FUFA Member Association of the Year: Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA)

Airtel – FUFA Fans Favourite Foreign based player of the Year:  Abdul Lumala

Airtel – FUFA Upcoming Talent of the Year: Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa & Uganda U-20)

Airtel – FUFA Best Squad (Team): Team of 1978

Airtel – FUFA Fair Play Award: Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) Football Club

Airtel – FUFA Women Football Coach of the Year: Ayub Khalifa

Airtel – FUFA Male Football Coach of the Year: Shafiq Bisaso (Former Proline Head Coach)

Airtel – Male Best XI: Joel Mutakubwa (GK), Paul Willa, Mustafa Kizza, John Revita, Halid Lwaliwa, Allan Kayiwa, Allan Okello, Shafiq Kagimu, Viane Ssekajugo, Mike Mutyaba, Bright Anukani

Airtel – Female Bext XI: Daisy Nakazkiro (GK), Florence Naziz, Shadia Nankya, Marion Amangat, Viola Namuddu, Rita Nabbosa, Phiona Nabbumba, Fauzia Najjemba, Mauren Kinavudori, Juliet Nalukenge, Nassuna Hasifa

FUFA Nantameggwa Winner: Henry Lubulwa

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop