Skip to main content

Airtel FUFA AWards: 4 days Left; Faridah Bulega nominated for coach of the year award

The Airtel FUFA Awards Organising Committee has released more nominees of various categories.

The nominees are; Coach of the year:

Faridah Bulega-Head coach at Wakiso United. She also handled Gafford Ladies who finished third in the inaugural FUFA women elite League last season. She is a CAF ‘C’ licenced coach and became the first female to handle a FUFA Big League side.


Khalifan Ayub-Coach of Kawempe Muslim Secondary School Women Football club. His achievements were enormous this year as he helped his club win the FUFA Women Elite League. Kawempe also won the National Schools Girls football Championship in Mbarara. He is a CAF C licenced coach.


Mark Twinamastiko: He is one of the main reasons why The Saints qualified for the FUFA Big League last season. The youthful coach believes in free flowing football. The CAF ‘C’ licensed coach is currently at FUFA Big League side Kirinya Jinja SS.


Other nominees; Upcoming Talent of the year;

  • Faisal Ssekyanzi (St May’s Heritage/Express FC)
  • Frank Tumwesigye (KJT/Vipers SC)
  • Alex Komakech (KJT/Vipers SC)

The 2014/5 FUFA Juniors League of players under the age of 17 was used as the basis for selecting the upcoming talent. The 12 coaches of the teams that played in 2014/5 Season will each submit 5 names (Not including players in their own teams) in priority order. The player in position 1 will earn 5 points, position 2 will earn 4 points, position 3 will earn 3 points, position 4 will earn 2 points, and position 5 will earn 1 point. The player with most votes will be the winner.

General info about Airtel FUFA Awards

The FUFA Awards launched Tuesday 6th October, 2015 are aimed at honouring the excellence for Ugandan footballers.

World over footballers are idolised as they play a key role in bringing fans to the stadia and entertaining their followers with different skills.

A big night awaits the most excelling footballers of the year 2015 when the local football fraternity gathers and experiences the epitome ambiance of Munyonyo Speke Resort on Friday 11th December, 2015 to crown Uganda’s best in the male and female categories.

Sponsors and Partners:
Airtel Uganda are the Official Sponsor of the 2015 FUFA Awards and here after called “The Airtel FUFA Awards”. Pepsi, UBC, Nile Special and NIC have already come aboard to also finance the event. A lot more partners are in the pipeline and will be announced as soon as we conclude

Fans are an integral part of Our Game
As we celebrate excellence, we do not forget our dear fans to be part of the celebrations. The 5 fans who send the most number of SMS messages to vote in any of the 4 categories will be rewarded with attending the Special Night and also free access to the Uganda Cranes matches for a year while the one with the most messages sent will also win a fully paid-up trip to travel with the Uganda Cranes on an away trip.


Category 1: Airtel-FUFA Male Player of the Year

Keziron Kizito: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 20 Send to 6669” for Keziron Kizito

Faruku Miya: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 10 Send to 6669” for Farouk Miya

Yasser Mugerwa: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 30 Send to 6669” for Yasser Mugerwa


Category 2: FUFA Female player of the year:

Nabweteme Sandra: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 50 Send to 6669” for Nabweteme Sandra

Nasuuna Hasifah: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 60 Send to 6669” for Nasuuna Hasifah

Babirye Winnie: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 70 Send to 6669” for Babirye Winnie


Category 3: Fans’ Favourite player (Ugandan player)

Fans will send SMS by typing “FANUG PlayerName Send to 6669” Where player shall be the name of the player

Category 4: Fans Favourite player in European Leagues

This award will also be determined by the fans. This is not limited to any nationality inclusive of Ugandans meaning any player in any club in Europe may be voted

Voting Criteria: Fans will send SMS by typing “FANS ClubName PlayerName Send to 6669” Where player shall be the name of the player

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop