Skip to main content

Airtel FUFA Awards: Top 5 nominees in male and female categories confirmed

The shortlist for the Airtel FUFA male and female player of the year has been reduced to just five nominees in the two categories following two voting phases that involved coaches and captains in the Uganda Premier League and 16 coaches for teams in the FUFA Women Super League and the FUFA Women Elite League.

It should be noted that there was an initial process that helped in formulating the list that had 16 and 12 nominees for the male and female category respectively.

The second phase of voting saw the coaches and captains selecting the top five nominees in the two categories.

In the male category, the final five nominees include Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Shafic Kagimu(URA FC), Allan Kayiwa(Vipers SC) and Musitafa Kizza (KCCA FC)

Anukani guided Proline FC to winning a double (The StarTimes FUFA Big League and the Stanbic Uganda Cup). He was named the MVP in the StarTimes FUFA Big League last season.

Mustafa Kizza

KCCA FC duo of Kizza and Okello won the StarTimes Uganda Premier League, the FUFA Super Cup, and the CECAFA Kagame Cup and were part of the Cranes team that qualified for the 2020 Championship of African Nations (CHAN).

Allan Okello

Kagimu and Kayiwa had a good run in the league at URA FC and Tooro United FC respectively and the two were part of the Cranes team that qualified for CHAN.

Shafiq Kagimu

As well, Bright Anukani guided Proline FC to the first-ever qualification to the CAF Confederation Cup after putting a good performance that led to the winning of Stanbic Uganda Cup Trophy. He was also named MVP in StarTimes FUFA Big League.

Bright Anukani

The top five nominees in the female category include Shadia Nankya, Hasifah Nassuna, Juliet Nalukenge, Fauzia Najjemba and Daizy Nakaziro who are also part of the Crested Cranes that will compete at the 2019 CECAFA Women’s Challenge Cup in Tanzania.

Nalukenge captained Uganda U17 Girls’ national team to winning the COSAFA Championship and she emerged top scorer with 18 goals. She helped Kawempe Muslim to win both the national and East Africa Secondary Schools championship.

Juliet Nalukenge

Najjembe, a student at Mukono High School who moved from Isra Soccer Academy to Kampala Queens recently was part of the Uganda U17 Girls’ national team that won the COSAFA Championship scoring 12 goals.

She was joint to scorer in the FUFA Women Elite League (regular season) scoring 14 goals. Najjemba helped Mukono High School to win the Independence Cup, she finished as a top scorer both in the National Schools Championship and the East Africa Secondary Schools Championship scoring 14 and 10 goals respectively.

Fauzia Najjemba

Nassuna who won the Airtel FUFA Female player of the year accolade in 2016 guided UCU Lady Cardinals to winning the FUFA Women Elite League last season ending the season as the top scorer with 16 goals and was also named the most valuable player.

Hasifah Nassuna

Defender Nankya scored 11 goals in the league and was the top scorer in the FUFA Women’s Cup with seven goals while Lady Doves goalkeeper Daizy Nakaziro was named the best goalkeeper both in the FUFA Women Elite League and the FUFA Women’s Cup.


The coaches’ and captains’ votes contribute 50% and 25% respectively in determining the winner while the fans have a contribution of 25%.

The 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards dinner will be held on 14th December at Speke Resort Munyonoyo where the winners in two categories will drive away in new cars.

Top 5 Nominees

Airtel FUFA Male Player of the year

  • Allan Okello – KCCA FC
  • Allan Kayiwa – Vipers SC
  • Shafic Kagimu – URA FC
  • Mustafa Kizza – KCCA FC
  • Bright Anukani – Proline FC

Airtel FUFA Female player of the year

  • Fauzia Najjemba – Kampala Queens
  • Shadia Nankya – Uganda Martyrs/ UCU Lady Cardinals
  • Juliet Nalukenge – Kawempe Muslim Ladies
  • Hasifah Nassuna – UCU Lady Cardinals
  • Daizy Nakaziro – Lady Doves

Other categories

Airtel FUFA Male Coach of the Year

  • Abdallah Mubiru (Police FC)
  •   Mutebi Mike Hillary (KCCA FC)
  • Bisaso Shafiq (Proline FC)

Airtel FUFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year

  •     Oliver Mbekeka (Lady Doves)
  • Ayub Khalifa Kiyingi (Kawempe Muslim Ladies)
  • Ndaula Fred (Makerere University)

Fair Play Award (based on a number of caution during the period considered)

  • Police FC
  • Maroons FC
  • URA FC

 Upcoming Talent Award (FUFA Juniors League)

  • Mugweri Gavin Kizito (SC Villa)
  • Anaku Sadat (KCCA SA)
  • Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC JT)

Airtel FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the Year

  • Luboyera Herbert (Mutola)
  • Ochero Sulaiman (St Lawrence)
  • Mutebi Ronald (St Lawrence)

Airtel FUFA Member Associations’ Award

  • Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA)
  • Buganda region Football Association
  • KCCA Football Club

 Team Fans of the Year (FUFA Competitions)

  • Onduparaka FC
  • SC Villa
  • Tooro United FC
  • Acholi Province
  • West Nile Province
  • Lango Province
  • Bunyoro Province

Full List of the 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards Categories:

1 – Airtel – FUFA Male Player of the Year 2019

2 – Airtel – FUFA Female Player of the Year 2019

3 – Airtel – FUFA Best XI 2019 (Men)

 4 – Airtel – FUFA Best XI 2019 (Women) – New

5 – Airtel – FUFA Coach of the Year 2019

6 – Airtel – FUFA Women Football Coach of the Year – New

7 – FUFA Presidential Award

8 – Airtel – FUFA Fair Play Award 2019 (UPL)

9 – Airtel – FUFA Upcoming Talent Award 2019 (FJL)

 10 – Airtel – FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the Year

11 – Airtel – FUFA Fans’ Favorite Uganda foreign-based Player

12 – Best Squad (Club/National Team) of a particular Year – New

13 – FUFA Member Associations’ Award – New

14 – Team Fans of the Year (FUFA Competitions) – New

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop