Skip to main content

Arua Hill SC are 2020/21 StarTimes FUFA Big League Winners

StarTimes FUFA Big League

Championship Final

Arua Hill SC 1-0 Tooro United FC

Playoff Final

Gaddafi FC 2-0 Proline FC

Arua Hill SC are the Champions of the 2020/21 StarTimes FUFA Big League season. To emerge winners, the Leopards overcame Tooro United FC in the final played at the FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru on Tuesday.

Arua Hill SC players pose with the trophy.

The closely contested game was graced by FUFA Executive Committee Member, Issa Magoola who was the guest of honor alongside FUFA Deputy CEO-Football, Decolas Kiiza and StarTimes-Uganda head of branding, Isma Lule

From L-R: Arua Hill SC Chairman, Joel Aiter, FUFA Deputy CEO-Football, Decolas Kiiza, FUFA EXCO Member, Issa Magoola and StarTimes Head of branding, Isma Lule.

Rashid Kawawa’s first half strike was the difference. He struck home in the 25th minute to guide his time to triumph.

The forward dashed to the middle and slotted the ball past goalkeeper Kenneth Lukyamuzi.

Tooro United FC ended the game with a player less after midfielder Patrick Sserunjogi was sent off in the 86th minute after a challenge on Aggrey Kirya.

Arua Hill SC therefore, finish the season unbeaten right from their regular season games in Elgon group where they topped to earn direct promotion.

Arua Hill SC Players celebrating

In the playoff final to determine the third team that earned promotion to next season’s Uganda Premier League, Gaddafi FC overcame Proline FC, winning the game 2-0.

Steven Munguchi and Frank Mulimi scored a goal each to send the Jinja based side to top flight football.

Munguchi was named the Most Valuable Player of the season, given his contribution in helping Gaddafi FC get promoted.

Steven Munguchi receiving the MVP accolade

Nyamityobora’s Clinton Kamugisha emerged the top scorer with 12 goals to his name.

Clinton Kamugisha of Nyamityobora FC

The best goalkeeper of the season award went to Richard Anyama of Arua Hill SC who played 13 games, keeping 9 clean sheets and conceding just 7.

Richard Anyama was named the best goalkeeper of the season.

The Fair Play award was handed to Ndejje University Football FC.

Mukono District FA Chairman, Mahad Kivumbi receives the Fair-Play award on behalf of Ndejje University.

Prize Money

Champions – Arua Hill SC (UGX 10M)

Runners up – Tooro United FC (UGX 5M)

Third Place – Gaddafi FC (UGX 3.5M)

Fourth Place – Proline FC (UGX 2.5M)

Fifth Place – Blacks Power FC (UGX 1M)

Sixth Place – Nyamityobora FC (UGX 1M)

Fair-play Award – Ndejje University (UGX 2M)

Individual Winners

MVP – Steven Munguchi – Gaddafi FC

Best Goalkeeper – Richard Anyama – Arua Hill SC

Top scorer – Clinton Kamugisha – Nyamityobora FC

Each of the individual award came with a cash prize of UGX 1M and 32-inch Flat Screen.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop