Skip to main content

BUL revel in FUFA Super 8 glory

BUL were on Sunday crowned winners of the 2023 FUFA Super 8 after edging URA FC in the final played at MTN-Lugogo Stadium.

Normal time ended goalless in the closely contested game but the Eastern Giants eventually won 3-2 on penalties.

Goalkeeper Joel Mutakubwa was the hero for BUL FC, saving two efforts in the shootout.

Mutakubwa came off the bench towards the end of normal time to replace Tom Ikara and indeed stood out.

He denied Sharif Kimbowa, Hudu Mulikyi and Nicholas Kabonge from the spot with only Joshua Lubwama scoring for URA FC.

Ronald Otti was the only BUL FC player that failed to convert but Lawrence Tezikya, Jerome Kirya and Mutakubwa scored from the spot.

BUL FC have had a remarkable run in the tournament, defeating Vipers and SC Villa en route to the final.

This is the second piece of silverware for the Jinja based club, having won the Stanbic Uganda Cup in 2022.

In the third place, KCCA FC edged SC Villa 3-2 in a five-goal thriller.

Arafat Usama scored a brace before and Ashraf Mugume scored the other goal.

David Owori and Charles Lwanga got the goals for the Jogoos.

Final Rankings and Prize Money

Winners – BUL FC (20M)

Second Place – URA FC (12M)

Third Place – KCCA FC (10M)

Fourth Place – SC Villa (8M)

Fifth Place – Soltilo Bright Stars FC (6M)

Sixth Place – Vipers SC (5M)

Seventh Place – Wakiso Giants FC (4M)

Eighth Place – Maroons FC (3M)

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop