Tuesday, April 23, 2019
You are here
Home > Latest News > 102.1 FUFA fm > CAF Champions League: Vipers skip El Merriekh hurdle, face Algeria’s Club Sportif Constantinois

CAF Champions League: Vipers skip El Merriekh hurdle, face Algeria’s Club Sportif Constantinois

CAF Champions League:

Vipers (Uganda) 1-0 El Merriekh (Sudan)

*Vipers qualify to the next stage after 2-2 on aggregate

Uganda’s representatives in the CAF Champions League, Vipers Sports Club made a majestic stride towards realization of their playing in the lucrative group Stages of the competition for the first time.

Vipers overcame Sudan’s El Merriekh 1-0 in the return leg of the preliminary round encounter played at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on Wednesday, 5th December 2018.

Abraham Ndugwa (right) scored for Vipers

Abraham Ndugwa scored the all important goal in the match also watched by the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo, Hononary FUFA President Dr. Lawrence Mulindwa, the Prime Minister of Buganda Kingdom Owek. Charles Peter Mayiga, FUFA delegates and the entire football family at large.

The inspection of the Vipers team

Vipers thus progressed to the next stages of the tournament after securing a slot on away goal’s rule following a 2 all stalemate on aggregate.

The Kitende based club will now face Algerian champions Club Sportif Constantinois in a two legged first round encounter.

Vipers will travel to Algeria for the first leg away.

Some of the Vipers fans

Team Line Ups:

Vipers XI: Bashir Ssekagya (G.K), Livingstone Mulondo, Yayo Kato Lutimba, Halid Lwaliwa, Geofrey Wasswa, Tadeo Lwanga (Captain), Brian Nkuubi, Moses Waiswa Ndhondhi (59’ Noah Wafula), Abraham Ndugwa (59’ Davis Kasirye), Tito Okello (88’ Ibrahim Kiyemba), Dan Muzeyi Sserunkuma

Subs Not Used: Derrick Ochan (G.K), Joseph Jjanjali, Brian Kalumba, Tom Masiko

El Merreikh XI: Abuzaid Salman Monged (G.K), Mohamed Mahamoud, Khaled Taha, Mohamed Abdel Rahman Yousif, Ahmed Mahmoud, Dhiya Musa, Salaheldin Nemer, Amir Kamal Suliman, Ahmed Ahmed, Mohamed Hashim Mohamed Idris, Ramadan Agab Sherief

Subs:Esam Eldin Abdulrahim Shamila (G.K), Yasir Gabir, Bakri, Babeker,Hamza Zakaria, Tajeldin Elnour Badawi, Tag Abdel Rahim, Mohamed Hagar Ali,Mohamed Idris, Ali Aboeshren, Saifeldin Malik Bakhit Maki, Boubacar Moumouni Abdoul Magid, Mohamed Abdallah

Referees pose with the team captains before kick off

Match Officials:

Center Referee: Abdoul Karim Twagiramukiza (Rwanda)

Assistant Referee 1: Dieudonne Mutumyimana (Rwanda)

Assistant Referee 2: Honore Simba (Rwanda)

Fourth Official: Louis Hakizimana (Rwanda)

Commissioner: Mzee Zam Ali (Tanzania)