Skip to main content

Cecafa: Cameroon, Zimbabwe lose slot to Malawi

Malawi will be the only guest team in this year’s CECAFA-Tusker Cup to be played in Kampala starting November 24.

Three countries including Cameroon and Zimbabwe had earlier showed interest in participating in the same tournament but the regional organising committee has preferred Malawi. CECAFA General Secretary Nicholas Musonye confirmed the development saying that Malawi has always proved a well coordinated, disciplined and competitive side in these tournaments. This will be the third consecutive time Malawi is participating as a guest team since 2010.

Malawi replaces Djibouti, a member country that pulled out of the tournament due to administrative challenges at home. Djibouti goes to polls to elect a new FA President this Saturday under the supervision of the FIFA officials. Cecafa referees committee member Houssein Waberi had by the beginning of the week remained to sole candidate for the seat.

The Cecafa-Tusker Cup draws will be conducted in Kampala on Monday. The other participating countries are Tanzania, South Sudan, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Sudan, Burundi, Eritrea, Somalia, Zanzibar, Kenyai and hosts Uganda.

The Somali National team arrives in Kampala this Friday to camp here a head of the tournament kick off. An advance party from Mogadishu is already in Kampala to make the necessary ground preparations.  

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop