Wednesday, March 3, 2021
You are here
Home > Latest News > 102.1 FUFA fm > CECAFA Girls U17 Championship: Two changes as Uganda takes on Kenya in title decider

CECAFA Girls U17 Championship: Two changes as Uganda takes on Kenya in title decider


Burundi 4-1 Eritrea 

Tanzania 10-0 Djibouti 

Uganda Vs Kenya – 3:00 am

The National Girls U-17 football team will take on rivals Kenya in the final and title deciding game as curtains close at the CECAFA U-17 girls championship today at FUFA technical center Njeru.

Uganda head coach Ayub Khalifa, has made two changes for the first time in the tournament, that has seen the Ugandan tactician use a similar first 11 in the first three won games of the event.

While Khalifa has maintained Uganda Martyrs goal keeper Daphine Nyayenga in the posts, Sumaya Komuntale (King of Kings) on the left full back position and Kawempe Moslem’s Stella Musubika and Olira Girls Bira Nadunga in central defense, Gillian Akadinda replaces Samalie Nakacwa on the right full back.

Another change will see Uganda Martyrs winger Catherine Nagadya raplaced by Kawempe Moslem striker Hadijah Nandago with Margret Kunihira now switching to the right wing and Fauzia Najjemba going on the far left while team captain and reigning FUFA Airtel female player of the year Juliet Nalukenge heading the front line alongside Nandago.

Uganda Martyrs Kevin Nakacwa and Kawempe Moslme’s Shakira Nyinagahirwa retain their positions in the holding and attaching midfield respectively.

Uganda leads the six team table with 10 points from four games and today’s game decides who wins the tournament because second placed Tanzania (8 points) takes on goalless and 37 goal deficit Djibouti and if Uganda slips up against Kenya and Tanzania beats Djibouti, then the Tanzanians will be declared champions.

Uganda’s Line up against Kenya.

Daphine Nyayenga (GK), Stella Musubika, Bira Nadunga, Gillian Akadinda, Sumaya Komuntale, Kevin Nakacwa, Shakira Nyinagahirwa, Catherine Nagadya, Margret Kunihira, Juliet Nalukenge, Fauzia Najjemba

Subs-Joan Namusisi, Gift Nasasira, Patricia Akiror, Moureen Nangozi, Catherine Nagadya, Zainah Nandede and Zaitun Namaganda.