Sunday, August 25, 2019
You are here
Home > Latest News > CHAN 2016 Referees: Uganda’s Mark Ssonko makes second appearence

CHAN 2016 Referees: Uganda’s Mark Ssonko makes second appearence


Uganda’s FIFA Assistant referee, Mark Ssonko is set to mark his second successive appearance at the Championship of African Nations football tournament.

Ssonko was at the 2014 CHAN championships in South Africa and he will be at the same tournament in Rwanda come 2016.

He was named by CAF referees standing committee among the 34 officials to officiate at the tournament that is played by only locally based players.

Mark Ssonko FIFA Assistant referee
Mark Ssonko FIFA Assistant Referee

The fitness tests for all the referees will be conducted on 13th January 2016 in Kigali.

The tournament gets underway on the 16th January 2016.

Uganda Cranes is pooled in group D alongside Zimbabwe, Zambia and Mali.

Meanwhile, Uganda will also be represented by the FUFA Chief Executive, Edgar Watson.

Watson is part of the technical study team and he will be based in Rubavu.

List of referees for CHAN 2016:

Center Referees:

Abdi Charef Medhi (Algeria), Bernard Camille (Seychelles), Denis Dembele (Cote d’Ivoire), Ibrahim Nour El Din (Egypt), Daniel Bennet (South Africa), Kordi Med Said (Tunisia), Mohamed El Fadil (Sudan),Nampiandrza Hamada (Madagascar), Keita Mahamadou (Mali), Ali Lemghaifry (Mauritania), Malang Diedhiou (Senegal), Zio Ephrem Juste (Burkina Faso),Davies Omweno (Kenya), Hudu Munyemana (Rwanda), Joseph Lamtey (Ghana) and Thierry
Nkurunziza (Burundi).

Assistant Referees:

Mokrane Gourari (Algeria),Ndagijimana Theogene (Rwanda), Mark Ssonko (Uganda), Oamogestse Godisamang (Botswana), Noupue Nouegoue Elvis (Cameroon), Dina Bienvenu (Benin), Serigne Cheikh Toure (Senegal), Ahmed Hossam Taha (Egypt), Tesfagiorghis Berha (Eritrea), David Laryea (Ghana), Mamdy Tere (Guinea), Sullaymane Sosseh (Gambia), Marwa Range (Kenya), Mahamadou Yahaya (Niger),Hensley Petrousse (Seychelles), Khumalo
Steven (South Africa),Theophile Vinga (Gabon) and Nabina Blaise Sebutu (DR Congo)