Skip to main content

The FUFA Drum





FUFA launches New Football tournament aimed at taking the beautiful game to the masses in Uganda

Click The FUFA Drum Rules

FUFA has introduced another football tournament aimed at taking the game to the masses based on Provinces in Uganda.

The FUFA Inter Provinces Competition to be named the ‘The Drum’ was launched today at FUFA House by FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo following a resolution of the 93rd FUFA Ordinary General Assembly and the 13th FUFA Executive Committee directive to formulate the Competition.

The Competition will be played between 16 provinces of Uganda and it is codenamed ‘The Drum’. It will be run and managed by official FUFA regulations.

FUFA will meet the costs of the teams in the areas of accommodation, transport,  individual and team winners’ Prizes, trophies and medals plus costs of match officials including the competition and training balls.

FUFA President said;

‘We have already conducted the seeding of the teams and the tournament will kick-off in January 2018. We expect to hold draws in Kasese where the final of the tournament will be played’


FUFA President added;

The tournament will be played from January to October with dates gazetted as Match Days and in the Independence week of Uganda we expect to be playing our final match’


FUFA President on the importance of the tournament;

‘The objective definitely is for searching talent across the country. The league alone can’t be the best way of tapping more talent. The clubs will also have a better hunting ground of players for their teams’


FUFA President on technical personnel to handle the Provincial teams

‘The minimum qualification for coaches to handle these teams is CAF C License holders. The masses must enjoy quality football’


Slogan of the ‘FUFA The Drum’ tournament’

‘Celebrating Our Ancestry’


How many Provinces will take part in the ‘FUFA The Drum’ Football tournament?

16 Provinces will take part.


Which Districts will make the Provincial teams?

Political districts shall mean those that existed as at 1st July 2017. Districts created after will belong to where their original (Parent) Districts belong or where not applicable FUFA will give a new guidance


Eligible Players;


  1. Players eligible to play for a province are;


  1. Those whose biological mother or father is of descent or ancestry from such a province.
  2. Those whose biological mother or father has lived in that province for a period of not less than 10 years.
  3. Only Ugandan players shall be legible to play.
  4. Once a player represents a province, he will not represent any other province again unless in special circumstances as may be decided by the FUFA Executive Committee


  1. Players representing their respective province teams for the first time will be required to fill form F501 that will include the endorsement of the LC-1 of the area of ancestry or residence.
  • The Drum is a competition open to all male players who satisfy the above conditions who may also;


  1. not be registered by any FIFA Member Association
  2. be registered by any FIFA Member Association
  3. be registered by FUFA and playing in the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th Division League.



Competition Format

The competition shall be played using a mixed format of 4 Groups composed of 4 Teams. In each group, each team will play 3 matches at home and 3 matches away. The top 2 teams in each group will proceed to the 2 legged-quarter final played on a home-away basis. The semifinals will also be played on a-home-away basis while the finals will be 1-leg match at a predetermined location.


Seeded teams


Pot-2 Pot-3 Pot-4
Buganda Lango Tooro Karamoja
Kampala Ankole Bukedi Sebei
Busoga Bugisu Kigezi Rwenzori
West Nile Bunyoro Teso Acholi



  1. West Nile: Political districts of Adjumani, Arua, Koboko, Maracha, Moyo, Nebbi, Pakwach, Yumbe and Zombo.


  1. Acholi: Political districts of Agago, Amuru, Gulu, Kitgum, Lamwo, Nwoya and Pader


  1. Lango: Political districts of Alebtong, Amolatar, Apac, Dokolo, Kole, Lira, Otuke and Oyam


  1. Karamoja: Political districts of Abim, Amudat, Kaabong, Kotido, Moroto, Nakapiripirit and Napak


  1. Teso: Political districts of Amuria, Bukedea, Kaberamaido, Katakwi, Kumi, Ngora, Serere and Soroti


  1. Sebei: Political districts of Bukwa, Kapchorwa and Kween


  1. Bugisu: Political districts of Bududa, Bulambuli, Manafwa, Mbale, Namisindwa and Sironko


  1. Bukedi: Political districts of Budaka, Busia, Butaleja, Butebo, Kibuku, Pallisa and Tororo


  1. Busoga: Political districts of Bugiri, Buyende, Iganga, Jinja, Kaliro, Kamuli, Luuka, Mayuge, Namayingo and Namutumba


  1. Kampala: This province will be composed of the District Football Associations of Central, Kawempe Nakawa, Makindye and Rubaga


  1. Buganda: This province will be composed of the political districts of Buikwe, Bukomansimbi, Butambala, Buvuma, Gomba, Kalangala, Kalungu, Kayunga, Kiboga, Kyankwanzi, Kyotera, Luweero, Lwengo, Lyantonde, Masaka, Mityana, Mpigi, Mubende, Mukono, Nakaseke, Nakasongola, Rakai, Sembabule, and Wakiso


  1. Bunyoro: Political districts of Buliisa, Hoima, Kagadi, Kibaale, Kiryandongo, and Masindi


  1. Tooro: Political districts of Bunyangabo, Kabarole, Kamwenge, Kyegegwa and Kyenjojo


  1. Rwenzori: Political districts of Bundibugyo, Kasese and Ntoroko


  1. Ankole: Political districts of Buhweju, Bushenyi, Ibanda, Isingiro, Kiruhura, Mbarara, Mitooma, Ntungamo, Rubirizi and Sheema


  1. Kigezi; Kabale, Kanungu, Kisoro and Rukungiri


    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop