Skip to main content

FUFA Juniors League 2017/18: Vipers’ U-18 team emulates their Seniors to emerge Champions

FUFA Juniors League 2017/18:

Final played at StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo:

  • Onduparaka Junior Team 0-1 Vipers Junior Team

Vipers Junior Team has clinched the 2017/18 FUFA Juniors League championship a Championship which is for players Under 18 years that was started in 2015. 

This followed a 0-1 victory in the final over Onduparaka Junior Team at the StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo – Kampala on Tuesday, 19th June 2018.  

Sula Mpanga’s lone strike two minutes inside the second half of the well attended game led Vipers SC JT to the victory.

Vipers defended gallantly following offensive threats from Iddi Abdul Wahid, Anthony Kent, Salim Abdallah and Abdul Shakur of Onduparaka Junior team.

Onduparaka’s Silas Draku was sent off in the closing stages of the game for unsporting conduct.

Sula Mpanga, the goal hero shoots during the final at the StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo on Tuesday
Vipers’ gifted left footed Ivan Asaba in action against Onduparaka Junior Team during the final

This is the second time that Vipers Junior Team are champions of this league after the 2015/16 triumph. The final was attended by FUFA second Vice President Darius Mugoye, FUFA Executive Committee member Chris Kalibala, FUFA Deputy CEO Humphrey Mandu, Onduparaka Patron Hon. Bernard Atiku, FUFA Delegates, coaches, Airtel Uganda Brand and Strategy Manager Noela Byuma among others.

Vipers  Junior Team earned Shs. 5M as prize money and Onduparaka Junior Team was rewarded with Shs 2M.

Vipers’ Moses Bakabulindi was named MVP, KCCA’s Sadat Anaku finished with 26 goals to take the top scorers’ gong, Joram Nsubuga (KCCA) was best goalkeeper and Ronald Ssali was best coach.

Meanwhile, Kirinya-Jinja S.S Junior Team earned the fair play team award.

Meanwhile, Airtel presented a cheque of UGX 55 Millions towards the FUFA Juniors League for the just concluded season. The financial support is part of the deal renewed four deal between Airtel and FUFA last year as the FUFA Juniors League was a beneficiary project undertaken by Airtel.

Airtel’s Byuma handed over the dummy cheque moments after the final at Lugogo.

Airtel Uganda Brand and Strategy Manager Noela Byuma hands over the dummy cheque to FUFA officials as partners of the FUFA Juniors League

Team Line Ups:

Vipers SC Junior Team Starting XI:

Mutwalibu Magolofa (G.K), Azizi Abdu Kayondo, Reagan Kasumba, Thomas Kakaire, Moses Bakabulindi, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Sula Mpanga, Ivan Ashaba, Gerald Kirya, Andrew Kirunda, Alex Kizito


Sadat Mugenyi, Benjamin Nazar, Hope Aganyira, Travis Mutyaba, Derrick Kato, Pius Ssonko, Vicent Chandiga

Head coach: Ronald Ssali

Onduparaka FC Junior Team Starting XI:

Safi Apangu (G.K), John Rogers, Francis Econi (Captain), Muhamed Rasul, Taban Wijo, Farouk Edema, Silas Draku, Iddi Abdul Wahid, Anthony Kent, Salim Abdallah, Abdul Shakur


Gilbert Yamandu, Bida Bare, Jimmy Piriyo, Gabriel Matata, Right Najib, Clement Taban

Head coach: Morrish Adiga

The match officials who handled the final with the FUFA Referees’ Manager Samuel Egesa Wesonga (L)

Match Officials:

  • Center Referee: Lucky Razake Kasalirwe
  • 1st Assistant Referee: Ashiraf Magoola
  • 2nd Assistant Referee: Ashiraf Kakaire
  • Fourth Official: Zamuyat Kawala
  • Match Commissioner: Egesa Wesonge
vipers’ Moses Bakkabulindi with the MVP accolade

Individual Awards:

  • Most Valuable Player (MVP): Moses Bakabulindi (Vipers Junior Team)
  • Top Scorer:  Sadat Anaku (KCCA Soccer Academy) – 26 Goals
  • Best Goalkeeper: Joram Nsubuga (KCCA Soccer Academy) – Conceded 10 goals
  • Best coach: Ronald Ssali (Vipers Junior Team)
  • Fair Play Award: Kirinya-Jinja S.S Juniors Team
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop