Skip to main content

FUFA President graces Busoga Masaza cup final

FINALS: Bukholi 3  –  1 Bunha

Third placed team: Kigulu 1  –  0  Buzaya

The Inaugural Busoga Masaza Cup climaxed on Saturday 29th October at Kyabazinga Stadium in Bugembe Jinja.
Bukooli got their first half three goals through Batwaire Ronald in the opening five minutes of the game before Balyeku Denis added another beautiful second goal in 16th minute to put Bukooli in the driving seat.

Action from the 2016 Busoga Masaza Cup at the Kyabazinga Stadium, Bugembe

Later on Bazibu Denis in 39th minute scored the third goal to put Bukooli in the comfortable lead.

Bunha pulled a goal back through Emma Waisawa but it was not enough to disappoint Hon. Helen Namutumba’s side Bukooli.

In their route to finals Bukholi did beat Kigulu 1-0 in the semis while Bunha thrashed Buzaya 2-1 to set the finals with Bukooli.


Various Very Important Persons in their capacities from Central government, Busoga kingdom, Federation of Uganda football Associations, Ex-Internationals Football Association among other dignitaries attended the well-organized finals.

His Royal Higness the Kyabazinga of Busoga Gabula Nadiope IV was the guest of honour flanked with the Busoga Hon. Prime minister Dr Joseph Muvawala  Nsekere with other cabinet ministers in the kingdom.

The Kyabazinga greets his subjects upon arrival at Bugembe

Meanwhile Fufa president Eng. Moses Magogo also graced the occasion by attending in person together with some ex-internationals like Hakim Magumba, Sam Kawalya and Ntege Patrick. The Eastern Region Football Associations Chairman Mr Issa Musiwa also was in attendance together with his executive members.

The tournament was sponsored by City tyres, Blue Ribbon, Bidco Uganda Ltd, FUFA, Baba Fm 87.7, and Tropical Bank Kakira Branch.

Busoga Kingdom officials were joined by the FUFA President, Eng. Moses Magogo to chorus aloud the Busoga and Uganda national anthems prior to kick off


The tournament attracted 14 teams from all the Busoga counties namely Butembe, Bugabula, Buzaya, Budiope, Kigulu, Bukooli South, Bukooli North, Luuka, Bunhole, Bunya, Busiki, Bulamogi and Bukono

Individual awards:

·         Cosia Waiswa (Bunha) with 4 goals

·         Ronald Obere (Bunha)-Most Valuable player

·         Herman Mudyadya (Buzaya)- Best Goal keeper

·         Siraje Bogere (Bukooli)- Best Manager

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop