Skip to main content

FUFA votes Morocco but Joint Bid wins rights for 2026 FIFA World cup

FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo says that democracy dictated during the voting of the 2026 FIFA World Cup hosts.

The exercise was conducted on Wednesday in Russia. FUFA was represented by its President, 1st Vice President Justus Mugisha and CEO Edgar Watson.

During the voting, FUFA President cast the ballot in favour of Morocco who were up against a joint bid that had USA, Canada and Mexico.

The 68th FIFA Congress convened in Moscow and designated the three countries as the hosts of football’s most prestigious tournament, which by then will have 48 teams.

The United Bid received 134 of 200 votes cast while Morocco tallied 65 votes. One single Member Association voted not to choose either of the two bids.

In a short message on his official Facebook and Twitters accounts, the FUFA President posted;

‘We voted for Africa (Morocco) 65 and lost the vote to United Bid 132 (US, Mexico, Canada). Congratulations to the US, Mexico and Canada’

FIFA President Gianni Infantino with officials of the Joint Bid that won the rights for hosting the 2026 FIFA World Cup in USA, Mexico and Canada.

How FAs voted


On the eve of the Elections, FUFA President and FUFA CEO led CAF to a glorious moment in the FIFA Congress Delegation Football Tournament in Russia.

The CAF Team was captained by Zambain football legend Kalusha Bwalya.  CAF team beat OCeania Football Confederation 5-4 on kicks from the penalty mark after a 1-1 draw.

The winners were presented with medals and a trophy.

FUFA CEO Edgar Watson (Yellow) with former France and Manchester United FC player Mikael Sylvestre in Russia
CAF Team-Winners of the FIFA Congress Delegation Football Tournament in Russia.
FUFA President with CAF President Ahmad Ahmad.
FUFA President with FIFA President Infantino
FUFA President holding the the FIFA Congress Delegation Football Tournament Trophy.

MAIN PHOTO: The Uganda trio at the FIFA Congress in Russia L-R Justus Mugsha (VP), Eng. Moses Magogo (President) and Edgar Watson (CEO).



    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop