Skip to main content

Gaddafi FC earn promotion to StarTimes Uganda Premier League

StartTimes FUFA Big League |Final playoff

Gaddafi 2-0 Proline FC 

Gaddafi FC became the third team to confirm their promotion to the 2021/22 StarTimes Uganda Premier League after overcoming Proline FC in the playoff final played on Tuesday at the FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru.

Goals from Steven Munguchi and Frank Mulimi ensured the Soldier Boys secured promotion to top flight football.

As early as the third minute, Munguchi had fired the Jinja based side in the lead, with a glancing header.

The midfielder dashed to the near post to connect home from a well delivered corner kick by James Otim.

Otim had a chance to double the lead in the 17th minute when he went through on goal but he fired wide faced just with goalkeeper Nicholas Ssebwato.

Proline FC withered through the early pressure and started to dominate proceedings towards the end of the first half but lacked cutting edge in the final third.

At the start of the second half, the coach called for the first change, bringing on Joshua Okiror for captain Noordin Bunjo.

Coach Anthony Bongole also made further changes by introducing Brian Umony and Juma Ssebudduka for Hamisi Kiiza and Arnold Sserunjogi respectively.

His counterpart Hassan Zungu on the other hand too made changes bringing on Mulimi, Ronald Obele and Asuman Bajjampola.

It was Mulimi who sealed victory for Gaddafi FC with an easy tap in after being set up by Joel Madodo who had earlier missed in a one on one situation.

Gaddafi FC therefore joins Arua Hills SC and Tooro United FC as the three teams promoted to the 2021/22 StarTimes Uganda Premier League. 

Gaddafi FC Starting XI

Paul Mujwampani (GK), Thomas Ochungo, Umaru Kyeyune, Lawrence Kasadha, Najib Fesali, Pascal Ngobi(C), James Otim, Steven Munguchi, Bithum Ronald Nsumbiano, Mark Bamukyaye, Joel Madondo

Didi Muhammad, Marco Barssey Methodius, Andrew Waiswa, Frank Mulimi, Ronald Obele, Naziru Sserwadda, Asuman Bajjampola, Godwin Kawagga, Willis Otong 

Proline FC Starting XI

Nicholas Ssebwato (GK), Brian Mato, Richard Ajuna, Yusuf Mukisa, Ibrahim Ssendi, Arnold Sserunjogi, Hakim Kiwanuka, Noordin Bunjo, Hamisi Kizza, Hamza Mulambuzi,Rodgers Mato

Shatif Magola, Alpha Thierry Ssali, Joshua Okiror, Ivan Ocholit, Brian Umony, Juma Ramathan, Juma Ssebadduka, Norman Kugonza 

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop