Skip to main content

Geofrey Sserunkuma sweeps most honours at glamorous Azam Uganda Premier League awards

Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) football club striker, Geofrey Sserunkuma smiled home with the most awards at the 2016/17 Azam Uganda Premier League awards held at Imperial Royal Hotel in Kampala on Wednesday night.

Sserunkuma was the Most Valuable Player, top scorer, fans’ player of the year and was also named on the team of the year,  taking home four different awards.

“I am very honoured to win such awards. It is good to be recognized for the work done” Sserunkuma said in a brief speech.

The FUFA President handshakes some of the players named on the Best XI

The FUFA President, Eng, Moses Magogo was among the high profile guest list that included Members of parliament, National Council of sports, Government officials, representatives from sponsors, fans, active and retired players  as well as referees.

“We are here to celebrate another successful footballing season. I appreciate all the stake holders of the game of football in this country right from the players, administrators, media, sponsors to the Government” Eng. Magogo noted.

Sserunkuma was also rewarded with a car.

The main league sponsors Azam Television were joined by the other partners Nile Breweries Limited, Bidco Uganda Limited to make the event a complete success.


MVP: Geofrey Sserunkuma (KCCA Football club)

Top Scorer: Geofrey Sserunkuma (KCCA Football Club) – 21 Goals

Fans’ player of the Year: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA Football Club)

Life time achievers’ award: Patrick Kawooya (RIP) – Former SC Villa President

Young player of the year: Allan Okello (KCCA FC)

Midfielder of the year: Saddam Juma (Express)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Ismail Watenga (Vipers)

Defender of the Year: Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

Goalkeeping coach of the Year: Stephen Billy Kiggundu (Vipers)

Coach of the year: Mike Mutebi (KCCA Football Club)

Referee of the year: Alex Munabi

Club Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the year award:  David Tamale (KCCA football club)

Fair Play Individual of the year – Fredrick Senoga

Fair play team award – KCCA football club

Media (On line): David Isabirye (Kawowo Sports)

Media (Print): John Viannie Nsiimbe (The Observer)

Media (TV): Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo (NTV)

Media (Radio): Phiona Namiiro (Star F.M)

Special Recognition award: Bukedde TV

Media ( Photography): John Batanudde (Red Pepper and Kawowo Sports)

Fans of the year: Onduparaka F.C fans

Team of the year

Ismail Watenga (G.K), Nico Wadada Wakiro, Habibu Kavuma, Halid Lwaliwa, Timothy Awanyi, Tadeo Lwanga, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Juma Saddam Ibrahim, Geofrey Sserunkuma, Shaban Muhammed, Emmanuel Okwi

Coach – Mike Mutebi

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop