Skip to main content

Micho names Uganda Cranes final squad for 2015 CECAFA Senior Challenge cup

Uganda Cranes final squad to Ethiopia for the 2015 Senior Challenge cup has been named by head coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic.

The squad was released on Friday morning at the African Bible University, Lubowa before the team left for Entebbe Airport to fly out at 12.51pm aboard Ethiopian Airlines to Addis-Ababa.

The 25 man contingent will have FUFA Executive Member Chris Kalibala as the Leader of Delegation.

Leader of Delegation Chris Kalibala at the Entebbe International Airport today

Uganda’s squad to Ethiopia for the CECAFA Senior Challenge cup: Goalkeepers: Alitho James, Mathias Kigonya, Isma Watenga, Denis Okot, Nsubuga Joseph, Jjuko Murushid, Bakaki Shafiq, Kassaga Richard, Wasswa Hassan Dazo, Ochaya Joseph, Isaac Muleme, Muwanga Bernard, Ntege Ivan, Mutyaba Muzamiru, Kizito Keziron, Miya Faruku, Ssekisambu Erisa, Okhuti Ceasar, Frank Kalanda, Nelson Senkatuka.

Robert Sentongo misses the trip as he could not produce his official travel document (passport) on Friday morning.

Micho has also named Miya Faruku as team captain to be deputised by Joseph Ochaya and Ivan Ntege.

‘Uganda has achieved its competitive targets this year but we shall not rest on our laurels. In order to widen the pool of players for next year’s competitions-CHAN Finals, 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Qualifiers and 2017 AFCON we are taking a youthful team to show Ugandan that we have a strong pool of players’ Micho told

Murushid Juuko (L) and Ivan Ntege (R) before departure at Entebbe International Airport.

He added ‘ our ambition to play to our best under no pressure but also targeting to win the trophy’

Leader of Delegation: Chris Kalibala

Head coach: Milutin Sredojevic

Assistant coach: Moses Basena

Goalkeepers’ coach: Fred Kajoba

Doctor: Ronald Kisolo

Uganda opens the campaign against regional rivals and defending champions Kenya on Sunday.

2015 CECAFA Groups:
Group A: Ethiopia, Rwanda, Tanzania and Somalia
Group B: Kenya, Uganda, Burundi and Zanzibar
Group C: Sudan, Malawi, South Sudan and Djibouti

MAIN PHOTO: L-R: Mathias Kigonya, Isma Watenga, Alitho James and skipper Miya Faruku at the Entebbe International Airport on Friday before flying out to Ethiopia.  

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop