Skip to main content

Mulindwa elected CECAFA Executive Committee Member

Former FUFA President Lawrence Mulindwa has this Tuesday afternoon been voted a member of the CECAFA Executive Committee in an election conducted here at Hill Park Hotel in Nairobi City.

CECAFA was conducting elections for four Executive committee members. A total of seven candidates presented interests in the four positions but Eritrea opted out of the race. Tanzania’s Eng. Leodgar Tenga will still have two more years as a regional chairperson untill 2015.

Mulindwa, a Honorary FUFA President polled maximum votes in an exercise presided over by Mr. Emmanuel Maradas from FIFA and witnessed by Magdi Shams Eldin and Kalusha Bwalya from CAF. Magdi is an Executive Member of CAF.

A total of twelve member countries took part in the elections with each country voting once. Mulindwa polled twelve votes followed by Tariq Atta (Sudan) 10, Abdigani Said Arab (Somalia) 9 and Raoul Gisanura (Rwanda) polled 8 votes.

Host President, Samuel Nyamweya and South Sudan FA President Chabur Alei were the two losers in the race.

Full election Results:

1. Lawrence Mulindwa – 12 Votes (Uganda)

2. Tariq Atta – 10 Votes (Sudan)

3. Abdiqaan Said – 9 Votes (Somalia)

4. Raoul Gisanura – 8 Votes (Rwanda)

5. Chabur Alei -5 Votes (South Sudan)

6. Samuel Nyamweya – 4 Votes (Kenya).



    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop