Skip to main content

Pilsner Super 8: Vipers SC Beats KCCA FC to Win Second Edition

A double strike by Fahad Bayo is all that Vipers SC needed to overcome KCCA FC at Mutesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku and be crowned winners of the 2019 Pilsner Super 8. The tournament is organised by FUFA for top 6 teams in the previous StarTimes Uganda Premier League season and two newly promoted sides from the FUFA Big League.

Fahad Bayo celebrates after scoring his first goal at Wankulukuku against KCCA FC

Bayo scored the opener in the 12th Minute and later sealed his side’s victory in the 67th minute.
The match witnessed a series of events with several cards shown to different players including a red card to KCCA’s John Revita after a second booking in the 88th Minute.

Erisa Ssekisambu (Yellow) fouls Abraham Ndugwa at Wankulukuku

Double Yellow cards shown to Lwaliwa and Muzeyi all in 26th minute
Both sides made several changes which saw Rahmat Ssenfuka replacing Frank Tumwesigye in the 39th minute after getting injured. A maximum of 6 substitutes is allowed in this tournament.

Dan Sserunkuma(red) challenged by Nicholas Kasozi at Wankulukuku.
Allan Kayiwa (Red) challenged by Peter Magambo after he came on for Dan Muzeyi Sserunkuma

KCCA FC emulated Vipers with a double substitution seeing Jackson Nunda and Gift Ali on for Nicholas Kasozi and Mike Mutyaba. KCCA made their last change as Achai Herbert replaced Simon Sserunkuma.
During the awards ceremony, a number of individuals were rewarded for their excellent performance and got accolades plus microwaves each.

Fahad Bayo of Vipers SC was named player of the match, he received his accolade and a microwave from Estella Muzito head of beer at Uganda Breweries limited. He will also receive 200,000 shs cash.
Fabien Mutombora of Vipers SC was named best goalkeeper of the tournament, he received his accolade from Ibrahim Mugisha a former National team goalkeeper.


Allan Okello of KCCA FC was the top scorer with three goals. He received an accolade and a microwave from Ibrahim Mugisha a former national team goalkeeper

Said Kyeyune of URA FC was named the best midfielder as his award was handed over to his club coach Sam Simbwa of URA FC.

URA FC Head coach Sam Ssimbwa received the accolade and Microwave from Mr. Jasper Otim of UBL on behalf of Saidi Kyeyune who was named best midfielder.

Otti Ronald of Mbarara City FC was named the best defender
All the participating teams in this year’s edition are to receive cash prizes as allocated by the sponsors.

Vipers SC starting XI against KCCA FC at Wankulukuku
KCCA FC starting XI against Vipers SC at Wankulukuku

The winners of this tournament (Vipers SC) are to receive a cash prize of 20 Million Shillings and the runners up (KCCA FC) with 12 Million shillings.

KCCA FC after receiving their medals
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop