Skip to main content

President Museveni receives Highest Honour in local football

The President of the Republic of Uganda Yoweri Kaguta Museveni receives the highest of Honor in local football-an award presented to him by FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo on Monday evening at State House Entebbe.

The decision to honor the President was taken by the FUFA General Assembly that convened in Kabale on 20th October at White Horse Inn.

The award called ‘The FUFA Goal’ is honor of the President’s continuous support to sports development and in particular football.

‘We are here to present to you an award for your contribution and love for sports in the country. Your support has helped the sector to realise their potential. Every time you have extended support to the National senior team-Uganda Cranes, results have been achieved both home and away’ said FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo.

‘Our National team qualified for the 2019 AFCON Finals and we would like to thank you for your support towards the preparations’ added Magogo.

The Minister of Education and Sports Hon Janet Museveni was also awarded in absentia with ‘The FUFA Ball’ honors for her role in developing the sector.

The President of Uganda was a happy man as he congratulated the delegation for a successful AFCON Qualification campaign.

‘I congratulate all Ugandans, FUFA and the Uganda Cranes players for qualifying. I know you have not conceded a goal in this campaign but we play Tanzania in our last game. Tanzania is my other home but I do not want you to lose to them next year’ said Museveni.

President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni receives a Uganda Cranes replica jersey from FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo

He emphasised that discipline is key in sports.

‘Success in sports is as a result of so many things. Stamina and team work are very key. I urge players not to be reckless with their lives. We shall continue supporting sports’ added the President.

The players were represented by Denis Onyango, Faruku Miya, Ochaya Joseph and Muwanga Bernard.

FUFA Delegation was headed by Eng. Moses Magogo, Justus Mugisha (FUFA 1st VP), Darius Mugoye (FUFA 2nd VP), Executive Member Rogers Byamukama and Deputy CEO Humphrey Mandu.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop