Skip to main content

FUFA Big League: Proline promoted. Kirinya-Jinja S.S are champions


Promotional Play-Off:  Proline 4-1 Sporting United

Final: Kirinya-Jinja S S 2-0 Onduparaka

Proline Soccer Club became the third club to join the Azam Uganda Premier league after winning the promotional play-off 4-1 against Lira’s Sporting United at Nakivubo Stadium on Sunday, 22nd May 2016.

Baker Mbowa’s coached side joined Onduparaka (from Arua) and Kirinya-Jinja S.S as the three sides promoted to the Azam Uganda Premier league starting with the season of 2016/17.

Gift Ali put Proline in the lead as early as the 23rd minute. The goal was canceled in the 38th minute through Dickens Okwi’s penalty.

Proline skipper Simon Monie Mbaziira scored a second half penalty to restore the lead before their lead striker, Edris Lubega added two more goals to cap a memorable evening that marked their return to the premier league.

Mbazira was later red-carded with 10 minutes to go for unsporting conduct.

Onduparaka FC head coach Allan Kabonge who was selected best coach of the 2015/16 FUFA Big league

In the main final, Kirinya-Jinja S.S overcame Onduparaka 2-0 courtesy of strikes from Musa Mugumba and Joel Madondo in either halves to win the FUFA Big league title.

The play-offs were watched by a mammoth crowd that included FUFA 3rd Vice president, Dennis Ssebuggwawo Mbidde, Uganda Cranes head coach, Milutin Sredojevic, Arua Municipality MP Bernard Atiku, Kachumbari MP, Patrick Isiagi Opoloti, FUFA officials among others.

Kirinya – Jinja is now overall champion of the 2015/16 FUFA Big league.



Fair-play Award: Bukedea Town Council

Best Coach: Allan Kabonge Kivewala (Onduparaka)

Most Valuable Player: Muhammed Shaban (Onduparaka FC)

Top Scorer: Edris Lubega (Proline) – 19 Goals (Regular Season)

Best Goalkeeper: Ikara Latom (Kirinya-Jinja S.S)


Best On-line: Chimp Reports

Best T.V: Top Television

Best Print: Red Pepper

Best Radio: Bukedde F.M

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop