Saturday, May 30, 2020
You are here
Home > Latest News > 102.1 FUFA fm > Stanbic Uganda Cup 2020: Nine UPL clubs progress to round of 16

Stanbic Uganda Cup 2020: Nine UPL clubs progress to round of 16

Nine StarTimes Uganda Premier League clubs progressed to the round of 16 stage for the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

Holders Proline, KCCA, Wakiso Giants, Tooro United, URA, Maroons, Mbarara City, SC Villa and Kyetume all made the grade.

Mbarara City were the biggest winners at this stage, humiliating Moyo based FHL 9-0 at the Kakyeka Stadium, Mbarara with Raymond Derrick Onyai on target with a hat-trick.

This was followed by URA’s 8-3 home victory against visiting Nyamityobora at the Arena of Visions in Ndejje University.

In this very game, striker Daniel Isiagi Opolot netted a hat-trick.

Contenders KCCA ensured a routine 2-0 win over FUFA Big League side Bukedea Town Council with defenders Peter Magambo and Fillbert Obenchan both on target.

Ronald Magwali scored to ensure SC Villa edge determined Kajjansi United and Maroons ejected 10 time Uganda Cup winners, Express.

Holders Proline needed a tense 5-4 post match penalty win to knock out determined side Admin, the current leaders in the Eastern region league (Bukedi group).

Normal time had ended one all goal apiece as Hamis “Diego” Kizza found the opener for Proline and Walter Alele headed home the equalizer two minutes to full time.

Six Star Times FUFA Big League sides as UPDF, Kiboga Young, Kataka, Dove, Kitara and Light SS all progressed to the next stage.

There is only one regional side still standing coming to the round of 16; Free Stars (conquerors of last years’ runners up, Bright Stars).

The date for the draws (round of 16) will be conducted in the nearby future with the date and venue confirmed by the FUFA Competitions department.

Uganda Cup – Round of 32 Results:

  • Wakiso Giants 5-0 MYDA
  • Proline 1 (5) – 1 (4) Admin
  • Kansai Plascon 1-2 Tooro United
  • URA 8-3 Nyamityobora
  • Express 3 (4) – 3 (5) Maroons
  • UPDF 2-1 Busia Young
  • Dove 2-1 Water
  • Mbarara City 9-0 FHL
  • Bright Stars 0 (3) – 0 (4) Free Stars
  • KCCA 2-0 Bukedea Town Council
  • Kitara 2-1 Luwero United
  • Light SS 3-1 Bugamba
  • Kajjansi United 0-1 SC Villa
  • Kiboga Young 1-0 Mvara Boys
  • Kigezi HomeBoyz 1 (2) – 1 (4) Kyetume
  • Spartans 1 (4) – 1 (5) Kataka