Skip to main content

Tanzania’s JKT Queens earn CECAFA ticket to 2023 CAF Women’s Champions League

JKT Queens FC are the winners of the CAF Women’s Champions League CECAFA Zonal Qualifiers 2023.

The Tanzanian outfit defeated Ethiopia’s CBE FC in the final of the Zonal Qualifiers played on Wednesday at FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru.

The closing ceremony was graced by FUFA President Hon. Magogo Moses Hassim, Her Excellency the Ambassador of Ethiopia to Uganda Estenet Bezabone Yimenu, CECAFA EXCO member Madam Petra Dorris and Vice President of the Tanzania Football Federation Steven Mnguto.

In a closely contested final, there was no outlet after normal time and thus extra time was considered.

Even after the extra 30 minutes, the scoreline remained goalless and the game had to be decided on kicks from the penalty mark.

CBE FC will have to rue the numerous chances missed before the shootout with captain Loza Abera, Aregash Tadesse and Median Awol Busser all getting one on one situations with goalkeeper Najiat Abass Idrisa at different intervals.

In the tense shootout, JKT Queens were perfect converting all their takes through Donisia Minja, Esther Mabanza, Antony Anastazia Katunzi, Winifrida Gerald and Happyness Hezron Mwaipaja.

On the other hand, Loza Abera, Aregash Tadesse, Emebet Asfaw and Nardos Getenet scored but Mesay Temesgen’s effort was saved and thus JKT Queens had to win 5-4.

JKT Queens FC will therefore represent East Africa at the final tournament in Ivory Coast in November this year.

Situmai Abdallah from JKT Queens FC was named the Most Valuable Player while Najiat Abass Idrisa and Fazila Ikwaput from JKT Queens FC and Kampala Queens FC were named best goalkeeper and top scorer respectively.

Hosts Kampala Queens FC were named the Fair Play team of the tournament.

CBE FC took home silver medals while BUJA Queens FC from Burundi FC defeated Kenya’s Vihiga Queens FC 1-0 to take the third place.

Winners – JKT Queens FC (Tanzania)

Runners Up – CBE FC (Ethiopia)

Second Runners Up – BUJA Queens FC (Burundi)

MVP – Situmai Abdallah (JKT Queens FC)

Top Scorer – Fazila Ikwaput (Kampala Queens FC) -8 Goals

Fair Play Award – Kampala Queens FC (Uganda)

Best Goalkeeper – Najiat Abass Idrisa (JKT Queens FC)

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop