Skip to main content

Total CHAN 2018 update: Uganda Cranes embark on first training session


  • 10th January – 4th February
  • In Morocco


The Uganda Cranes team has officially commenced training at Nelson Mandela National Stadium, Namboole on Thursday.

A total of 38 players attended the one and a half hours’ session held at the outside training facility under the coaches Mathias Lule and Wasswa Bbosa.

Newly named head coach Sébastien Desabre, fresh from the official unveiling hours earlier at FUFA House also attended the session for at least 40 minutes.

The players in a stretching drills after the training session on Thursday

Sébastien also spared time and shared his experience with the players.

‘I am happy to meet you. I am ready to serve the national team. I call upon professionalism from each one of you to have a great time together. You are good players ready to face anybody’ the coach who was accompanied by the FUFA CEO, Edgar Watson, Hamid Juma, Ronnie Kalema (FUFA Executive Committee members), Patrick Ntege Kaweesa (National Teams’ manager), Joseph Kasana (Team Coordinator), and the team’s Media officer Ahmed Hussein.

After a few minutes, he was accompanied back to his hotel for rest ahead of Friday afternoon training session alongside his assistants Lule and Fred Kajoba (goalkeeping coach).

Assistant coach Lule expressed delight upon the arrival of the new coach.

New coach Sébastien greets Mathias Lule at Namboole stadium outside training ground on Thursday

‘We are happy to recieve our brother Desabre. We shall give him all the necessary due support as we build a winning team. We are all ready to learn from each other’ Lule stated.

Mathias Lule addressing the media

The final team to Morocco shall be constituted of 23 players.

The 41 players summoned (In Red are the new inclusions):

Goalkeepers: Watenga Isma (Vipers Sc), Ochan Benjamin (KCCA FC), Ikara Tom (J-Kirinya SS), Saidi Keni (Proline FC), Samson Kirya (SC Villa)

Wadada Nicholas (Vipers Sc), Nsubuga Joseph (Sc Villa Jogoo), Muleme Isaac (KCCA FC), Madoi Aggrey (Police FC), Awanyi Timothy (KCCA FC), Muwanga Bernard (Sc Villa Jogoo), Bakaki Shafiq (Vipers SC), Lwanga Taddeo (Vipers SC), Masiko Tom (Vipers SC), Saddam Juma (KCCA FC), Mutyaba Muzamiru (KCCA FC), Karisa Milton (Vipers SC), Mucureezi Paul (KCCA FC), Kateregga Allan (KCCA FC), Kyambadde Allan (SC Villa Jogoo), Nsibambi Derrick (KCCA FC), Shaban Muhammad (KCCA FC), Senkatuka Nelson (Bright Stars FC), Kaweesa Hood (Police FC), Isiagi Daniel (Proline FC), Mujuzi Mustapha ( Proline FC), Kasule Abubaker (Express FC), Kagimu Shafik (URA FC), Kasozi Nicholas (Sc Villa Jogoo), David Ndihabwe (Express FC), Kiiza Mustapha (KCCA FC),  Martin Kizza (SC Villa), Isaac Kirabira (KCCA FC), Rahmat Senfuka (Police), Abraham Ndugwa (Masavu), Moses Waiswa (Vipers), Godfrey Lwesibawa (SC Villa), Musa Esenu (Kirinya-Jinja S.S), Sheif Batte (Bright Stars), Patrick Mbowa (URA), Savio Kabugo (Proline)

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop