Skip to main content

FBL History

2018/2019 StarTimes FUFA Big League Champions Proline FC

StarTimes FUFA Big League

StarTimes FUFA Big League is the 2nd Division tier since 2010. The previous champion is Proline FC (20. Two clubs that finish at the top of each group (Rwenzori and Elgon) are promoted directly to the top League (StarTimes Uganda Premier League) while the second and third position Clubs meet each other in the playoff semifinals. Wakiso Giants and Kyetume FC are the other two teams that were promoted from the 2018/2019 season.

2019/20 Season 

The 2019/20 StarTimes FUFA Big League was not played to conclusion after the outbreak of COVID-19. UPDF FC and MYDA FC who had led Rwenzori and Elgon Group respectively by the first round qualified automatically while Kitara FC defeated Mbale Heroes/Kiboga Young in the playoffs to secure the third slot.

There was no Champion this season, since the game between MYDA FC and UPDF FC was not played.

2018/2019 Season

Proline FC emerged overall winners defeating Wakiso Giants 1-0 at the Star Times Stadium, Lugogo courtesy of a Bright Anukani first-half strike past custodian Yasin Mugabi on 19th May 2019.

In the regular season, Proline emerged leaders in the Rwenzori group and so did Wakiso Giants in the Elgon group.

In the promotional playoff final to determine the third team to gain promotion after Proline and Wakiso, Kyetume defeated Kansai Plascon 4-1 at Lugogo.

Proline’s Bright Anukani and Ivan Bogere emerged MVP and leading scorer (14 goals) respectively while Wakiso Giants’ Ivan Mutumba was voted best goalkeeper of that particular season.

Proline FC striker Ivan Bogere receiving a golden boot award from Jackson Mayanja

Past Champions

  • 2019/2020 – Final not played
  • 2018/ 2019 – Proline FC 1-0 Wakiso Giants 
  • 2017/2018 – Ndejje University FC 1-0 Nyamityobora FC
  • 2016/2017 – Maroons FC 2-1 Masavu FC
  • 2015/2016 – Kirinya Jinja SS 2-0 Onduparaka FC 
  • 2014/2015 – Maroons FC 1-0 The Saints 
  • 2013/2014 – Lweza FC 2-1 Sadolin
  • 2012/2013 – Bright StarsFC 2-1 CRO FC
  • 2011/2012 – Entebbe Young FC 1-0 Kiira Young FC
  • 2010/2011 – Maji 5-2 Hoima Busia FC 
  • 2009/2010 – Maroons 2-0 Gulu United 

About the FUFA Big League

The concept of re-structuring Ugandan football with the creation of a new second-tier league was first mooted in October 2008 by FUFA. The idea that was single-handedly promoted by the Current President of FUFA Eng. Moses Magogo was ridiculed, resisted, and fought by everyone.

Although Magogo felt abandoned, he was buoyed by the inaugural clubs that were determined to proceed. Eventually out of persistence, Magogo won one by one convert, and eventually, the league was passed by the FUFA Executive Committee.

The new national second division league, known as the FUFA Big League (FBL), was to cater for leading sides in the five regions. Second-tier sides at that time competed at the regional level, with many of them failing to cope with advancement whenever they gained promotion to the national Super League.

FUFA Competitions Committee secretary, Moses Magogo, confirmed that qualification to the Super League through the regional mini-leagues would be ended and replaced by promotion through the national first-division league.

A major objective of the initiative was to help raise the standard of football outside the Super League.

Official logo of the FUFA Big League

The FUFA Big League (FBL) is managed by the FUFA Competitions Department/Committee and was launched on 6 August 6, 2009. The following clubs are eligible to play in the FBL:

  • Clubs that participated in the Uganda Premier League (UPL) in the previous season and were relegated;
  • Clubs that participated in the FBL in the previous season and were not relegated to the regional leagues;
  • Clubs that participated in the FBL in the previous season and were not promoted to the UPL; and
  • Clubs that are promoted from the 8 FUFA Regional FA Leagues

If there are more than 16 clubs in the FBL it is divided into two groups with each group being run as separate leagues but under the same rules and regulations for FUFA Competitions rules.

The top placed team in each group at the end of the regular season gains automatic qualification but face off to determine the overall champion of the FUFA Big League for each season.

The 1st runners up and 2nd runners up in each group feature in the playoffs to determine the third team which qualifies for the StarTimes Uganda Premier League.

The StarTimes FUFA Big League has two groups-Rwenzori and Elgon.

The Competitions Committee set standards for member clubs covering computer literacy, a sound bank account, stadia that meet FUFA standards, qualified coaches and doctors.

The FUFA Big League is represented in the Assembly with 8 delegates

The 16 clubs that competed in the first season of the FBL in the 2009/10 season were as follows:

Participating clubs Location Position in the 2008/09 season
Bishop Nankyama FC Bukalasa Semi-finalists from Buganda Regional League
Devine Waters FC Apac Third-placed team from North Regional Super Mini League
Fort Hills FC Fort Portal Third-placed team from West Regional Super Mini League
Gulu United FC Gulu
Jinja Arsenal FC Jinja
Jinja Municipal Council Hippos FC Jinja Runner-up from East Regional Super Mini League
KASE FC Kampala Third placed team from Kampala Regional Super Mini League
Maroons FC Kampala Runners-up from Kampala Regional Super Mini League
Masaka Municipal Council FC Masaka
Mbale Heroes FC Mbale Third placed team from East Regional Super Mini League
Mbarara United FC Mbarara Fourteenth team in the Uganda Super League
Misindye FC Mukono Third placed team from Buganda Regional Super Mini League
Ndejje University FC Luwero Runners-up from Buganda Regional Super Mini League
Samba Boys FC Yumbe Runners-up from North Regional Super Mini League
Sharing Youth FC Kampala Seventeenth team in Uganda Super League
UTODA FC Kampala Semi-finalists from Kampala Regional League
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop