Skip to main content

Uganda Cranes flies out tonight for friendly against Zimbabwe, AFCON qualifier with Botswana

Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic has named a 19 man squad that leaves early hours of Monday morning to Harare and Francistown where they will play Zimbabwe and Botswana on Tuesday and Saturday respectively.

They will be welcomed in Harare by FUFA advance team of Finance Director Decolas Kiiza who left on Saturday morning.

Uganda Cranes players in a prayer session at Lugogo on the artificial turf.

Micho’s squad has German based player Melvyn Lorenzen who has been training with the team since joining from his club Werder Bremen.

‘We are happy with the process of documentation of Melvyn’s papers to secure him a National passport. The Immigration office has been helpful. Hon. Mike Mukula an ardent football fan has been of great help as well in a bid to help FUFA secure the player’s passport. We are optimistic that the only missing paper to be issued by the German Government will be sent in time for the player to feature for Uganda Cranes against Botswana on 4th June, 2016’

Cranes who will fly aboard Ethiopian Airlines, will be joined by two players on Monday in Harare and these are; Denis Onyango and Yassar Mugerwa while Tony Mawejje arrives on Tuesday morning.

Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic closely supervised the last training for Uganda Cranes at Lugogo

Ethiopia based stars goalkeeper Robert Odongkara and defender Isaac Isinde will link up with the team via Addis Ababa before connecting to Zimbabwe.

Dennis Iguma (up) and team captain, Geofrey Massa in a stretching drill at Lugogo on Sunday

The  Traveling Contingent:

Leader of Delegation: Denis Mbidde Ssebugwawo

Head coach: Sredojevic Milutin

Assistant coach: Moses Basena

Goalkeeping coach: Fred Kajoba

Team Doctor: Ronald Kisolo

Physiotherapist: Ivan Ssewanyana

Team Coordinator: Crispus Muyinda

Team players: Denis Onyango, Robert Odongkara, Denis Iguma, Joseph Ochaya, Luwagga Kizito, Okwi Emma, Wasswa Hassan Mawanda, Juuko Murushid, Sekisambu Erisa, Kasirye Davis, Massa Geoffrey, Miya Faruku, Lorenzen Melvyn, Walusimbi Godfrey, Aucho Khalid, Lubega Idrisa,  Isinde Isaac, Tony Mawejje and Yassar Mugerwa.


    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop