Skip to main content

Uganda Cup 2015/16: Vipers Vs Onduparaka preview

2015/16 Uganda Cup Final:

  • Vipers Vs Onduparaka
  • Saturday, June 18 – Nakivubo Stadium (4 p.m)
  • Entry Fees: 5000/- (Ordinary), 10,000/- (Covered Wings) & 20,000/- (VIP)
  •  Gates open by 10 a.m

Match Officials:

Center Referee: Brian Nsubuga Miiro (FIFA Referee)

1st Assistant Referee: Okello Lee

2nd Assistant Referee: Ronald Katenya

4th Official: William Senkumba

Match Commissioner/Assessor: George Wamala Katumba

The 42nd Uganda Cup final will be played on Saturday, 18th June 2016 at Nakivubo Stadium between Vipers and Onduparaka football clubs.

Both clubs are meeting for the first time ever in all competitions. Whereas Vipers shall be playing in the third Uganda Cup final, Onduparaka are marking their first ever appearance in the final.

Onduparaka’s captain, Muhammad Shaban is the current top scorer with seven goals.

He is closely followed by Vipers’ Erisa Ssekisambu who has six.

The two strikers have a chance to prove themselves when their clubs face each other.

How the two Clubs progressed to the final:


Round of 64: Bukedea Town Council 1-2 Vipers (Scorers: Kizito Kezironi and William Wadri)

Round of 32: Kasese New Villa 0-2 Vipers (Scorers: Joseph Ssemujju and Erisa Ssekisambu)

Round of 16: Airtel-Kitara 1-4 Vipers (Scorers: Billy Herbert Alinda – [Airtel Kitara], Erisa Ssekisambu X2, Kezironi Kizito and Allan Kyambadde) –

Quarter final: Vipers 2-0 Hope Doves – 25th April 2016 (Scorer: Erisa Ssekisambu X2)


1st Leg: KCCA 0-2 Vipers (Nakivubo Stadium) – Alfred Leku and Erisa Ssekisambu

2nd Leg: Vipers 0-1 KCCA (Buikwe Stadium)


Round of 64: Onduparaka 1 (3) -1 (2) Masavu (Scorers: Muhammed Shaban – Onduparaka and Charles Odeke – Masavu)

Round of 32: Sports Club Villa 0 (4) – 0 (5) Onduparaka

Round of 16: Onduparaka 4-1 Busia Fisheries (Scorers: Gerard Lipot – Busia Fisheries,  Muhammed Shaban X2, Rashid Agau, Gaddafi Wahabu)

Quarter final: Onduparaka 1-0 Soana – (Scorer: Muhammed Shaban)


1st Leg – Entebbe 0-1 Onduparaka (Bugonga Stadium, Entebbe) – Muhammed Shaban

2nd Leg: Onduparaka 4-0 Entebbe (Green Light Stadium, Arua) – Muhammed Shaban X2, Gadaffi Gadihno, Rashid Agau


FUFA Competitions Director, Ali Mwebe highlights about the CSR cause attached to this year’s Uganda Cup.

This year’s edition has been associated with the Social Corporate Responsibility cause where individuals are requested to donate generously all items they can afford. The donated items will be given to Missionaries of the Poor, a charity group based in Kisenyi, Kampala.

Kampala region are the host of this year’s final following last year’s edition which was hosted by the Western region.


The Uganda Cup is  the second most prestigious competition in Uganda football.

It is played on a knock out basis. This annual competition is open for non league sides, registered clubs playing in all the five divisions of member clubs of the Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA).

The Uganda Cup was first held in 1971. The current holders are Sports Club Villa Jogoo but were knocked out by Onduparaka FC.

The winner of the competition represents Uganda in the CAF Confederation Cup.

Express FC has won the cup most times (10) while Sc villa is on 9 cups.

KCCA FC on 8 and URA is on 3 trophies.

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C
1972-1975-Not Held
1976- Gangama F.C
1977- Simba F.C
1978 – Nsambya F.C
1979 – KCC F.C
1980 – KCC F.C
1981 – Coffee F.C
1982 – KCC F.C
1983 – SC Villa F.C
1984 – KCC F.C
1985 – Express F.C
1986 – SC Villa F.C
1987 – KCC F.C
1988 – SC Villa
1989 – SC Villa
1990 – KCC F.C
1991 – Express F.C
1992 – Express F.C
1993 – KCC F.C
1994 – Express F.C
1995 – Express F.C
1996 – UEB S.C
1997 – Express F.C
1998 – SC Villa
1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C
2000 – SC Villa
2001 – Express F.C
2002 – SC Villa
2003 – Express F.C
2004 – KCC F.C
2005 – URA F.C
2006 – Express F.C
2007 – Express F.C
2007/8 – Victors S.C
2008/9 – SC Villa
2009/10 – Victors S.C
2010/11 – Simba S.C
2011/12 – URA F.C
2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University
2013/2014 – URA F.C
2014/2015 – SC Villa Jogoo


    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop