Skip to main content


41st Edition of Uganda Cup Final:

KCC Vs Sports Club Villa – Kyamate Sports Ground, Ntungamo

Saturday, 6th June 2015 (3:30 p.m)

Entry Fee: 10,000/=

Live 102.1 FUFA f.m

‘A journey of 1000 miles begins with a single step’ goes an old school adage.

Likewise, the Uganda Cup 41st edition started way back in December 2014 with a single bold step of the preliminary stage matches.

To this end, all the five rounds have been successfully completed and what the 35 plus millions of soccer mad Ugandans await is the final.

The Uganda Cup fiesta, which has been held since 1971 is set at Kyamate sports ground in Ntungamo play ground on Saturday, 6th June 2015 as two traditionally known foes, Sports Club Villa plays Kampala City Council Football club.

What will make this fixture as one of the most awaited games in Uganda’s history is that both sides have won the tournament an equal number of times (8).

FUFA Spokesperson, Ahmed Hussein (second left) with Airtel Uganda’s Noela Byuma during the draws of the Uganda Cup at FUFA House. Airtel Uganda bank rolls the tournament


In a bid to close down on run away winners, Express Sports Club, both clubs (SC Villa and KCC) will have to fight gallantly.

The atmosphere in Ntungamo is tuned up for the final match. Residents are ready

Ali Mwebe, FUFA Competitions Director told

The two teams have already settled in Ntungamo days ahead of the much anticipated final that will be relied live on Uganda’s fast rising F.M radio station, 102.1 FUFA f.m, one of the rare stations owned by a football federation in the world.

KCC F.C recovered from an accident scare when part of the traveling contingent was involved in a nasty road accident on the way to Ntungamo.

Road Map To Finals:

Over 160 teams were engaged in the tournament and the two last standing sides are ready to rumble.

Survival By A Whisker:

SC Villa survived the jaws of elimination at the round of 64 after Buganda regional side, Azam F.C forced a penalty shoot out that the Bweyogerere based outfit eventually lost 1-4.

Express F.C, the record holders (10 titles under their belt) were shocked 2-1 at the round of 64 by Kitara based Airtel F.C in Hoima.

The same team (Airtel F.C) held Police F.C to a non scoring draw after normal time before bowing out to the Cops’ team 0-3 in FIFA Post match penalties.

Kampala regional side, Kyambogo Football club was possibly the biggest revelation of the campaign, eliminating Azam Uganda Premier League table leaders, Vipers at the round of 64, Rwenzori Big league favorites, The Saints F.C (Round of 32) and elite side, Sadolin Paints F.C (round of 16) before bowing to KCC at the quarter finals.

Biggest Score-line:

Former FUFA Big league side, The Saints F.C (have been now promoted to the Azam Uganda Premier League) hold the record of this year’s biggest score line 1-12 away in Masindi against regional side, Steel F.C.

In the other impressive score line recorded, Umar Kasumba and Umar Bulega each scored a hat trick to combine 6 goals for Police F.C against Big league side, Baza Holdings at Kawanda in the round of 16 engagement.

2014/15 Favorites:

SC Villa and KCC have both won the cup 8 times and will be aiming for the unprecedented 9th title.

Previous winner, Sports Club Victoria University (winners in 2013/14 edition) boast of the second joint top scorer, Fahad Tokko (6 goals), with Fred Kyambadde (of The Saints F.C).
Uganda Revenue Authority (URA), winners of the 2013/14 edition was eliminated by Kampala City Council at the round of 16.

KCC’s Herman Wasswa has five to his name and in case he scores more than once on Saturday, he stands to walk home with the top scorers’ award.

SC Villa Path:

SC Villa kick started the campaign when they eliminated Kampala regional side, Azam F.C 4-1 in FIFA Post match penalties after a 0-0 draw at Nakivubo stadium in the round of 64.

Sports Club Villa star player, Steven Bengo dribbles the ball as the team trained at the match venue – Kyamate Sports Ground

Busia Fisheries skipped the trip to Nakivubo stadium at the round of 32 before getting the better of Proline in the last 16 teams battle with a 4-1 result.

Isaac Muleme scored a late goal in extra time to help SC Villa eliminate the 2013 winners, Sports Club Victoria University in the quarter finals before eliminating BUL in the semi finals 2-0 on aggregate.

Denis Kamanzi scored at Kakindu before Augustine Nsumba netted at Nakivubo in the return leg.

KCC Path:

KCC overcame Corporate XI 4-0 at the round of 64. Ejected at the Ndejje University away 3-0 in Luwerro at the 32 stage.

At the last 16 stage, KCC perfectly avenged to URA with a 2-1 result at the Mehta Stadium.

The then high flying Kyambogo F.C were stopped by KCC F.C at the quarter stage 4-1 in penalties after a 1-1 draw in normal time.

At the semi finals, KCC defeated Lweza F.C 2-0 on aggregate over the two legs.

KCC F.C left winger (right) recovered well in time to feature in the club’s friendly match against Mbarara Soccer Academy on Wednesday. KCC won 3-1 in the test match


Prize For Winners:

Besides the glittering trophy, the winner of the Uganda Cup gets U.shs 7M cash prize with a privilege to represent the country at the CAF Confederations Cup.

The runners up will take a cash prize of U.shs 2M.

There are several cash rewards set for the top performers (top scorer, MVP and the different media personnel).

Top Scorers:

Fahad Muhammed Hassan Tokko – 6 Goals (SC Victoria University)

Fred Kyambadde – 6 Goals (The Saints F.C)

Herman Wasswa – 5 Goals (KCC F.C)

uganda cup
The Uganda Cup Trophy that awaits the winner

Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) football club, who beat KCC at last year’s finals is the tourney defending champion.

2014 Uganda Cup winners URA FC players celebrate defeating KCCA FC 4-2 on penalties in the  finals played at Mbale Municipal  Stadium on Satuday 7 June 2014. The game ended 2-2 after normal time (2)


Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976- Gangama F.C

1977- Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa F.C

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa F.C

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C


1998 – SC Villa


1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/15 – Kampala City Council OR SC Villa ??

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop