Skip to main content

Uganda Hippos squad reduced to 30 players, Byekwaso impressed by the attitude during training

Since the beginning of training on Thursday 20th January 2021, there has been stiff competition among players in different positions aggressively working had to make it to the final squad that will travel for the AFCON U20 in Mauritania.

The squad that had 37 players is now reduced to a 30-man squad basically to allow the technical team remains with few players of whom the final 25-man squad will be selected before traveling for the final tournament.

Kiberu Ronald (Synergy FC), Lutalo Umar (Aspire Academy), Kitaka Samuel Moses (Loughborough University-UK), Lotanna Obi Obedi (Big Talent), Mukisa Emmanuel (Kataka FC), Okur Swamadu (Kataka FC), Opio Odong (Luzira FC) have been released from camp.

However, Morley Byekwaso (Head Coach) still believes the dropped players are good and he was impressed by their attitude during training.

‘We have training for over 4 days and we had to reduce the number of players in the squad. All the players we summoned are good but we depended so much on their fitness levels. I’m impressed by the players’ attitude during training. We had no choice but they are still in our setup fortunately they may be summoned yet again.We shall select the final 25 who will travel for AFCON in a few days from now.‘ notes Byekwaso.

Uganda Hippos will have a practice match on Wednesday 27th January against KCCA FC at the MTN Omondi Stadium Lugogo.

Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC) and Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC) will join the rest of the players depending on the fate of Uganda Cranes in CHAN Tournament.

The opponents that will play Uganda Hippos in AFCON will be identified after the draws that will be held on Monday 25th January 2021.  

The Hippos are the Champions of CECAFA Region after winning the trophy in Arusha, Tanzania in December 2020.

At AFCON U-20 finals, Uganda is pooled in group A alongside hosts Mauritania, Cameroon and Mozambique.

Current players in camp.


Komakech Jack (Ascent SA), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa), Ochama Daniel (Boro Boro Super Sport FC),


Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC) Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Kitabalwa Robert (Vipers SC), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Bbosa Richard (Express FC).


Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Alou John Kokas (URA FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew( KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal  (Big Talent SA).


Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Onyai Raymond (Mbarara City FC), Mulindi Ashiraf  (Kataka FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop