Skip to main content

Uganda ready for DRC in 2021 CECACA U-23 Challenge Cup | Group A

CECAFA U-23 Challenge Cup 2021: (July 18-31) – Bahir Dar, Ethiopia:

  • Group A: Uganda, Tanzania, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)
  • Group B: Ethiopia, Burundi, Eritrea
  • Group C: Djibouti, South Sudan, Kenya

Uganda’s fixtures:

Sunday, 18th July 2021: Uganda Vs DR Congo (1 PM) – Live on 102.1 FUFA f.m

Sunday, 25th July 2021: Uganda Vs Tanzania (4 PM)

Uganda U-23 (The Kobs) face guests Democratic Republic in an early kick off at the Bahir Dar International Stadium on Sunday, 18th July 2021.

Under head coach Morley Byekwaso, the team settled in well since arrival on Wednesday evening after conducting subsequent training sessions at the Bahir Dar university stadium.

Byekwaso believes the players are well prepared mentally and physically to encounter DRC with a victory in sight to ensure qualification to the semi-finals.

‘The players are well and in good moods. We are strong mentally and physically to face DR Congo. The players are now used to the weather conditions here and ready to give 100 percent’ Byekwaso disclosed.

L-R: The goalkeepers Charles Lukwago, Denis Otim and Saidi Keni in training

The same message was carried by the team captain Enock Walusimbi who retaliated the essence to take every match like a cup final.

‘We reached very well and have settled in well. We are all set to get three points in the game. We take every match seriously because we need to win the trophy like the rest of the Uganda’s teams at this CECAFA tournaments’ Walusimbi stated.

The Uganda players in training at Bahir Dar University stadium

Uganda U-23 Squad:


Goal Keepers: Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Saidi Keni (SC Villa), Dennis Otim (Express FC)

Defenders: Enock Walusimbi (Express FC), Abdu Aziizi Kayondo (Vipers SC), George Kaddu (Wakiso Giants FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC), Kenneth Ssemakula (BUL FC), Magambo Peter (KCCA FC), Gavin Kizito ( SC Villa)

Midfielders: Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Abdul Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), , Steven Sserwadda (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (KCCA FC), Salim Abdallah (SC Villa).

Forwards: Mukwala Stephen Dese (URA FC), Ivan Bogere (Wakiso Giants FC), Saddam Masereka (SC Villa), Julius Poloto (KCCA FC), Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Hakim Kiwanuka (Proline FC), Derrick Kakooza (Police FC), Samuel Ssenyonjo (KCCA FC)


Leader of Delegation: Rogers Byamukama

Head Coach: Morley Byekwaso

Assistant Coach: Simeon Massa

Goalkeeping coach: Steven Billy Kiggundu

Team Manager: Bashir mutyaba

Team Doctor: Emmanuel Nakabago

Kitsman: Samuel Mulondo

Media Officer: Lawrence Bwanika

FUFA Delegate: Isa Musiiwa

FUFA Staff: Edward Kalungi

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop