Skip to main content

Uganda wins CECAFA U15 title without conceding a goal

Uganda under 15 team emerged the inaugural wiinners of the CECAFA boys championship after beating Kenya 4-0 in the final at Asmara international stadium on Friday.

Uganda U-15 celebrate after scoring their first goal against Kenya

Devis Ogwal headed in the first goal off Shafiki Waswanga’s cross before Travis Mutyaba scored from his usual position, a free-kick that gave the Kenyan goalie Lwangu Alvin no chance for the first half to end 2-0.

Action during the final in Asmara.

At the restart, Abasi Kyeyune made a double score to stretch the game away from the reach of the Kenyans.
Kyeyune’s first was a header off a pedal work from Carros Kaddu before he martialled past a host of Kenyan players to send a high shot into the right corner for his 9th of the tournament and 23rd for Uganda.
The final was presided over by CAF President Ahmad Ahmad and also attended by FUFA 1st Vice President Justus Mugisha who represented the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo.

CAF President joined by other CAF and CECAFA officials during the inspection.


Ahmad was accompanied by CECAFA officials and leaders of delegations from the four semifinal countries, to award the various winners.
Kyeyune won the top scorer accolade, Kenya’s Lwangu the best goalkeeper while Temesgen Tesfay of Eritreawas the best player.

Uganda U-15 starting XI against Kenya in the Final


Uganda U-15 XI:

Daniel Mukisa Kirumira, Vincent Mulema, Peter  Gaya, Shafiki Waswanga, Kaddu Caros, Kaliisa Shugai, Muliika Patrick, Travis Mutyaba, Ogwal Devis, Ouke Patrick and Abasi Kyeyune


Peter Rickson Gubya, Elisa Talemwa, Samuel Mutebi, Godfrey Ssekibengo, Shafiq Magogo, Abdul Nsereko, Najib Kigozi, Hafidu Ssonko Ssembatya and Leonard Kasaanya


    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop