Skip to main content

University Football League: Seaon 3 Launched

The 3rd edition of the University Football League (UFL) was successfully launched with a champion’s league format on Thursday at Kati Kati restaurant in Kampala.

The league has seen a growth of the teams from 8 to 12 as Gulu University, Busitema, Uganda Christian University (UCU) and Kyambogo (who are making a return to the league after serving one year
suspension ban) have joined the 8 teams that played season 2.

The eight teams joined are defending champions, Kampala University, Makerere University Business School (MUBS), Makerere University, Kyambogo, Nkozi University, Mbarara University of Science and
Technology (MUST), Ndejje University and Nkumba University.

“It is a real beam of light to see the teams grow from 8 to 12, Anthony Tumwesigye, the league manager told www.

The first phase of the league will be played between March and April with the preliminary round of action.

The best top 4 teams from each of the two groups will then play the quarter finals and semifinals (which will be held on home and away basis).

A one legged final, which will be shown live on NBS TV will be held on a neutral ground. UgX 12 million has been ear marked as the prize money for the different teams in the competition.

The league, is exclusively organized by Red Rhino under a  is sponsored by Nile Special, Pepsi, Money gram, Rwenzori Mineral water, United Assurance Company (UAP), Spedag Interfreight,  Airtel Uganda,
and the official broadcasting company, NBS T.V.

The league bars FUFA Big league and super league players. Players such as Peter Otai, Muzamiru Mutyaba (KU), Yassar Mugerwa, Dan Nsubuga (Nkumba University), Siraje Musindo (Mbarara University of Science and Technology) are some of the products of the University league.

The Full Draws:
Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST), Kampala University (KU), Uganda Martyr’s University, NKOZI, Makerere University Business School (MUBS), Makerere University and Uganda
Christian University (UCU)

Gulu University, Nkumba University, Ndejje University, Busitema University, Kampala International University (KIU) and Kyambogo University

Photo: Nkumba University’s Faizo Muwawu (Blue) in action in UFL season 2.

Photo credit: David Isabirye

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop